You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FORESIGHT: What happened in the 19th and 20th century? Creating a doomed future.

in #philosophy7 years ago

And I am not a southerner defending my home turf. I've lived my whole life in Pennsylvania. I simply paid attention in history class.

I've lived in Colorado since I was 4. I am now 47. I get it. I am also extremely anti-racist. Yet I know you cannot fight racist, by being racist. I consider Black Lives Matter a racist organization. I happen to be a fan of Morgan Freeman's take on racism and agree with him completely.

And yeah, as a kid the Dukes of Hazzard was actually the only thing I ever thought of when I saw the confederate flag. :) People making a big deal about it made me dig into it further. Dukes of Hazzard wasn't promoting any racism that I remember.

Sort:  

I really respect Freeman for advancing that perspective. Wallace would have been pilloried if he had done the same. I would have liked to see Freeman and Ali debate the issue. Ali is overtly politically incorrect by today's standards but it is worth watching.

Yeah I've watched quite a bit of Ali. I like to imagine he might have changed his mind if he knew where things would end up today. Sadly, we are not prophets, just humans.

Thank you for posting this clip. If only people would listen to Morgan Freeman. He made me laugh out loud the way he schooled Wallace.

You notice how Wallace quickly fell back on 'Well I'm Jewish." That is a perfect example of what's wrong with people today. When Freeman challenged him about the need for a Black History Month, Wallace had no rationale, no counterpoint. He simply went to "I'm Jewish". What the hell does your religious beliefs have to do with this? Because you are jewish you understand the problems black Americans have faced? He just assumed Freeman was for Black History Month because Freeman is black. And Freeman caught him totally off guard by challenging the notion we need a separate month to celebrate black history.

We are all Americans. We are all in this together.

We are all Americans. We are all in this together.

We are all human. This is a global problem. Yes, you and I are Americans, but some of the people here are not and they too are having to deal with similar situations.

That is true. I should have said we are all human. We have to share this planet together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48