How to fix the world or yourself in a few steps: Step 1 - Part 2

in #philosophy7 years ago

If a teacher is to be successful there are some pretty basic processes to help their students.

  1. Give value to the subject matter
  2. Define the goals
  3. Define the objectives
  4. Model the Skill
  5. Give guided exercises on the skill
  6. Give independent exercises
  7. Test and Retest

Step 1 of fixing the world or yourself is to identify the state of things currently. 

Why is that important? How can you reach a destination if you don't know where you are starting from? How do you know the destination is the right one for you? One time I picked up a hitchhiker going to university. In the course of our discussions I learned that he had spent a year travelling through Europe and Asia and had only spent $5000 during the entire year. He was going to university so that he could get a good job, in order to make lots of money, so that he could travel more. This lead to the question ... why do something totally unrelated  - engineering - instead of focusing on creating a travel agency or writing travel books which was the destination that he wanted to go.

An Example of Identifying Yourself.

I am one of those people who makes a good bad example. Largely if people do the opposite of what I did in the past, they would be happy, successful and wise. If I could sit down with my younger self while at university and have him do the self analysis it would appear as follows:

Mind: I was a well education person devoting 8 - 12 months of the year going to school. I enjoyed reading and having in depth discussions with my friends on a broad range of topics.

Body: I was physically active playing squash or tennis several times per week. I would work out or go swimming on a daily basis. I enjoyed playing inter-mural sports such as volleyball.

Spirit: I did not follow a particular religion beyond an occasional nod at my family's beliefs. I had a reasonable appreciation of art - I would on rare occasions go to the art gallery, or read about my favourite artists. I would occasionally go to the university's arboretum to sit in the grass or on the steps of the dormitory to watch the girls go by. My friends and I would hit the local pub on a weekly basis - enjoying youth.

Materiality: While I was in university I was never eligible for a student grant or loan - mainly because I could work enough in the summertime or through part time jobs and the occasional infusion from my family.

Sensuality:  When I was in university I was a very sensual person... I enjoyed wine, women and song. I used to drink all different types of tea. I decorated my rooms with posters of famous painters works of art: Renoir, Van Gogh,  Burne-Jones  etc.

Emotion: I had the emotions of typical Canadian university students...going from one mid-term to the next. Going out with but not committing to any particular woman. 

In contrast to a healthy well-balanced person I believe I looked like the following:

Exercise:

Identify the following traits to correspond to you at some point in your life:

Mind


Body


Spirit


Material


Sensual


Emotional


Chart These Aspects on the Triangles 

Sort:  

I think this is a good model for analyzon your life :)

Thank you @hanuli - I hope to submit on a reasonably frequent basis. Just as when you do your artwork, the first few lines you create can only hint what is to come.

Congratulations @dwarrilow2002! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35