You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Western Society Needs Eastern Philosophy

in #philosophy5 years ago

Oh the synchronicity :) Yesterday mom and I ate at a relatively new Indian restaurant and spent about a half an hour chatting with the young couple who runs it. They moved here from Punjab just under a year ago- and they practice a religion I am ashamed to say I've never heard of called Sikhism. I did some research on it when I got home, and it's sooo much healthier than Christianity.

However, not subscribing to any particular religion is what works best for me, because even with the best of them they have rules I don't agree with (In this case, covering the head- and more importantly no alcohol lol) What really fascinated me about it though is learning that 99% of people who wear turbans in the US are from the Sikh religion and not Islamic as most people assume. Apparently the poor dude was harassed at every airport on his way here- testing his hands for chemicals, of course forcing him to remove his turban etc.- because of that assumption. There is a big similarity in his looks to a Pakistani, but fuck off on the stereotypes America sheesh, even if were Pakistani. When will we evolve Clay? Sadly I don't know if I have any faith that the majority ever will.

(Speaking of Christianity, my mother is a Jesus freak so of course she had to talk to them about the love of Christ- smh- though I suppose it's fair enough as she did respectfully listen to what they had to say and responded to it kindly. She's much better than she once was with that stuff, I will give her that.)

Awesome post, glad I dropped by! x

Sort:  

I fear the direction our society is headed, the separatism and racism is only going to get worse at an institutional level. That being said, it feels very much like there's a shift in people, like you've noticed with your mom, and maybe as individuals we have to collectively get smarter before we can hope to change the institutions we sell our souls to for the illusion of security they promise. Ultimately though, like you, I don't ascribe to any of the labels even though by all accounts I seem to tick ever box for Buddhism, which I find hilarious as I don't even consider Buddhism a religion. Perhaps that's why it resonates so much with? Who knows...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 63935.74
ETH 2749.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65