You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Elon Musk was wrong, we are not living in a simulation according to latest results

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

It was more a thought experiment than a claim. Watch the latest video by Vsauce3 and the companion video. It implies the thought that we could consider atoms as being equivalent to 1's and 0's in coding, then consider the rendering capacity of a simple desktop computer.

Also, notice I said atoms on Earth, not the universe. Games like Minecraft that can render vast amounts of code already simulate more 'atoms' than earth contains. I am suggesting that this does not definitively disprove simulation theory, especially since simulation capabilities are STILL on the rise...

I am not looking for a fight, simply trying to start a conversation since the Tag on the article is Philosophy...

Sort:  

I am sorry for my rude tone, I was in a shitty mood. I disagree that your minecraft example has anything to do with simulation. To simulate atoms, you need to simulate the physical properties of atoms,including electrons, protons, quarks,etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63