You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekly 30 Minute #PhilosophyChallenge [1]

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

We wouldn't do away with the emotions (re-read the question!) but control them. Even with controlled emotions, would we not still be human?

What if we have an individual who doesn't feel the appropriate emotional responses - a sociopath with little to no sympahty for the pain of others. What if we could make it so that this individual can sympathize with the suffering or joy of others. Would this not be a good thing to try and do?

Sort:  

Maybe controlled emotions will lead to a constant numb but slightly happy state. Like everybody being a little stoned all day. Well that’s not so bad I guess.

Yes i think so, at least not individual humans anymore. Controlling emotions would lead to the same thing as no emotions.

"Controlling emotions would lead to the same thing as no emotions."
Hmmm, interesting.. why do you think this?

I thought of something like emotion controll by government, artificial intelligence, something like that.

This would lead to spread one ideal and conform emotion to everyone. Resulting in a perfect wheel in the system.
(Not shure if Wheel is the right word in this context.)

We should continue in the other „thread“.

What if we have an individual who doesn't feel the appropriate emotional responses - a sociopath with little to no sympathy for the pain of others. What if we could make it so that this individual can sympathize with the suffering or joy of others. Would this not be a good thing to try and do?

Well I know people that are on certain drugs (medications) that influence their emotional state. And sometimes it may help but... well.

I thought of some perfectly controlled by the government thing.
Was that also your idea?

I was just responding to what you said. I'll have to write out my answer to find out what I think for myself. :-) Look out for it, I'm going to try and get it done tomorrow morning.

Well I don’t know what timezone you‘re on 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35