You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some Random Curmudgeonly Rumblings...

in #philosophy7 years ago

I've been discovering that lately myself, about being a generalist here versus sticking to a small area of content. Hopefully between Steemit and Steemit users some solutions will be found to that problem.

Sort:  

Thanks, @doule, for your thoughtful comment.

I really do believe that as the Steemit community grows in numbers we will find more readers. ;)

And thank you. I'm hopeful we'll find more readers too. I wonder if Steemit or the Steemit community have any plans to market articles, especially to people outside. Some of the articles here might be of more permanent interest to people as they talk about a topic in some depth and here are also a lot of people who might be interested in an article and follow it from a link, but don't want to join, at least at that moment. In a blogging sense, that person did read the article and maybe came to know there was a site called Steemit, and could look for it later, but since there's no advertising the article being read didn't benefit Steemit or the author as much as it might have. I'm starting to figure out ways to also publish some of what I write here on the outside too, with information about Steemit and links back to it.

First, Thank You kindly for the Re-Steem my friend. ;)

Yes, cross-posting to Facebook and other media is good and helpful, and yes, readers do come in from the outside whether or not they "stick" and join Steemit. These are all good things!

One great reason that I spend so much time here is that Steemit promises to be a "permanent archive" of what I write. I hope that my writing will outlast me and be accessible to my descendants, should they one day develop an interest in who I am... ;)

You're very welcome. I know what you mean about readers coming in from the outside. That's how I happened to learn of Steemit, people posting articles from it somewhere else. I never thought about Steemit being a permanent archive. That's interesting. This is a platform that really encourages blogging, which didn't work all that well for me, even though I've always written and posted quite a lot online. Some people do well keeping diaries, and other people don't. But for some reason, Steemit helps to keep me going with it :)

I believe that as Steemit grows, its popularity will spread largely by word of mouth. I, personally, heard about it from a you tuber who my dad was watching, who talked about cryptocurrencies. However, as the community grows, it will naturally begin to feature in google and other search engines, which will bring more people into fold.

Let God worry about the growth of the project, as he takes care of everything else. ^_^

Agreed. Amen! Since you're new, here's a user-friendly guide to Steemit I put together that you may find to be helpful. God bless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66