You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does fate exist? (And by extension, is free will an illusion?)

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

We are partially free, and partially not free.
We are free when we understand the power of our mind.
We are not free when despite what we understand, we are still subjected to our environment/condition/nature that shapes our emotion (i.e. make us happy, sad, joyful, angry, etc).
If our emotion is dictated by our environment/condition/nature, then how can we say we have free will?
Try to be sad when we hear a funny joke, but that would contradict the nature.
Life can sometimes be seen as just a drama, with everyone as actor/actress following his/her own script.
The script is already written beforehand.

Sort:  

Thank you for your thoughts, Dorky! This is a hard topic and it brings terrible conclusions that make our illusion of freedom disappear. I'm not, however, a hard believer of "ignorance is bliss", so this knowledge brings me fulfilment.

I at least know which chains shackle me to the dungeons of reality. I like to see the blows coming even if this knowledge will fill me with dread for the future.

If our emotion is dictated by our environment/condition/nature, then how can we say we have free will?

I agree

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81