You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sometimes...

I think the nugget of the article is right here:

Control over life slipping away, as finding out just how futile our attempts were to start with - and there are forces at play whose surrendering to could bring us far greater riches and fulfillment than what we'd have directed ourselves towards in our youthful immaturity.

The moment we can eliminate any illusion of control, well, that's the moment when we can and do surrender to those forces that can bring far greater prosperity than our own wits and will are capable of bringing. I have long considered this prospect and have become comfortable with the notion that my tiny little brain is simply no match for the universe.

Long ago, I took improvisation classes on a whim, as a way to get out of isolation, and out of the house. One of the first rules of improvisation is to never say "no" on stage. I kind of live my life like that now. I go with it, whatever it may be, and with intent to avoiding injury or damage to other people or property, to the greatest extent possible. I work hard to err on the side of peace.

I can't say that I'm rich, but I have prospered from holding this attitude.

Now I'm not all pollyanna, either. But I recognize when negatively comes up, that is a sign that I lack the skills to cope with the demands of my environment. People tend to go negative when their positive coping skills fail or come up short for the circumstance. When I see people get really negative, I know it's due to a lack of skills to cope.

Since I know we don't have much control over life, one of those skills that I've cultivated and nurtured is faith. Now I'm not talking about religious faith. I'm talking about a definition of faith I got from Alan Watts, author of, The Wisdom of Insecurity:

Belief clings where faith lets go.

For a more detailed explanation, go here. I equate belief with expectations, so I have worked hard to reduce the number of beliefs I must hold to be sane and whatever is left is reserved to faith, a sort of reservation of judgment, a trusting that everything will be OK. So far, it's been working well for me.

I can't say if this attitude will work well for others, but your article inspired me to share it to offer a different perspective on the topic of your article. I like to frame the topic in the context of skills because for me, anyway, that perspective gives me hope and makes faith, a reservation of judgment possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64