You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Serenity Prayer - Acceptance and Courage

I was not aware that there was an original Serenity Prayer and that it had been modified for the purposes of AA. I can understand why they made the changes, though.

I think the central problem with alcoholics and people who are addicted to alcoholics is the focus on other people and how other people should be. The purpose of the modifications of the original Serenity Prayer is to encourage, as you seem to have observed, a return to focus on oneself for change.

While it is possible to differ on whether either prayer is universal or personal, both seem to share the same idea: acceptance of what we cannot change and a call to take notice of what we can change.

As much as I like The Serenity Prayer, there is one that I like even more:

God, please grant me knowledge of your will for me and the power to carry that out.

All of these prayers are open ended, and they are for nothing specific. The prayer that I cite above for example is about as open ended as one can be, and is clearly a request, not a made to order wish.

I too, would like to make the world a better place. But as the prayers above suggest, I may not always be the best judge of what makes the world a better place. So with these prayers, I can ask for guidance in times of doubt.

Sort:  

Thanks for the feedback. Yeah they can help, my point is that even if we can't change things because they are bigger than us, doesn't mean we can't try to change them, because they can be changed. We can and should by working together to make things better ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49