Feel the need to unleash your overwhelming potential & greatness? Read this first.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy7 years ago

I let my mind go unconditioned for so long I still live with the consequences of having built such neuronal pathways.

Whatever you think about builds neurons for that thought, literally giving it life.

Have you ever liked a girl you could not have?

Ever uttered the phrase, “now I can't stop thinking about her!

That's the result of the snowball effect.

One thought sends a signal that you can imagine builds a “bridge” for the senses. That’s how you can get horny just by thinking about sex, or hungry just thinking about food.

now I can't stop thinking about her!”—The snowball effect happens as you continually think about her, this builds the size of the bridge—eventually, you have a perfect bridge to channel energy and focus too.

Consciousness can be thought of like water, and your brain is the earth. What you think about carves channels into your brain. Now, pour the water and the water flows naturally into the channels. Once you have built a strong channel for your thoughts to flow, it is basically as hard as digging a new channel and filling in the old one; it takes effort to take control of your mind to do this.

Constantly obsessing over whether or not your are achieving your full potential is counter intuitive—you’re only wasting energy and causing yourself unnecessary stress.

OK, reaching my point, get the notion of full potential out of the windowthis isn’t Lucy, and there is no secret greatness you can unlock. (No matter what, you will think there is always “something” you can do to unlock “something” that will make you reach your full potential.)

However, there are principles.

Principles have changed my life, forced me to carve out new channels for my thoughts to flow.

I’ll extend to you a principle I use daily.

I know that I am capable of doing amazing things in life. That, I know with my particular set of skills (discipline, desire, principles, tiger like reflexes) I can get anywhere I want.

Think the scenario below:

You have all the money in the world and are supreme leader of the earth!

However, no matter how rich and powerful you are, you still have to fly to your destination, you can’t teleport there.

This could be maddening!

You say: “But, I have all the money in the world, I have all the power, I could crush this world! You’re telling me I have to fly on a plane or jet??? I want to get there instantly!

Yes, supreme ruler, and your flight is right this way...

You see, really grasp this. I am trying to paint as vivid a picture as I can.

You can feel you can and should have all things you desire.

You may be strong, fast, super good looking, and rich . . . yet you still can’t teleport your way to greatness.

Just because you have the ability and potential to be great, doesn’t mean you can skip steps. Staying humble and doing what you can do right now, no matter how small or "above it" you think you are, do it anyway.

I want to be a great author!Great, start by writing your first chapter.

I want to make millions in sales!Great, start by making your first sale.

I want to lose hundred pounds and get super ripped!Great, start with your first workout.

You see, I have these visions of a dozen books, thousands of students, and being published by every big named publisher worth a damn.

I was crippled by visions so colossal, that the suffering of not living up to my expectations of myself instantly . . . that was stressing me out.

However, keeping my goals in daily perspectives helps to tackle the situations. Biting off more than you can chew never brings satisfaction—but, nice little bite size pieces always keep you hungry throughout the meal. 

Sort:  

Phenominal advice! Just amazing. I have been working alot on metacognition and to read the way you wrote it really helps hash it all out. Thank you. :)

You're welcome! Thanks for reading. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75