You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A tree-hugger, an anarchist and a mystic walked into a bar…

in #philosophy7 years ago

Some interesting perspectives, for sure...

To me, money is a pretty nifty "temporary store of value" that makes it possible for me to trade the eggs my chickens just laid for someone to fix my plumbing when I actually have a need to get my plumbing fixed. Or whatever. If things like "availability" and "needs" all happened along a nice straight line, I wouldn't need money... but since my plumbing breaking doesn't necessarily happen according to my chickens' egg laying schedule, I will probably continue to use money. Or cowries. Or gold dubloons.

I love the idea of transhumanism, gift economies, anarchism, pure libertarianism and so on... but they tend to be ideologies that are seldom-- if ever-- functionally implementable in the real the world because they assume a level of intelligence, insight and self-awareness very few people have... and even want. At best, they exist as intellectual ideals from which we-- hopefully-- can derive hybrid variations that can actually be applied on broader scales.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68921.34
ETH 3929.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62