You'll Answer 'No' To This Question, But Do You Truly Live Your Words?

in #philosophy7 years ago

Does age really matter when you want to do what you wished to do?

You'd probably won't hesitate to answer "No, it shouldn't be a deciding factor at all."

But when reality hits, you find yourself at a blocked junction.

Deciding between the path not taken, or the 'safer route.'

(Robert Frost's poem rings a bell.)

Source

Often, people would opt for the latter for many reasons- money, commitment, family, etc.

While we're here arguing whether age should be a deciding factor for us to pursue a dream or continue one, this 103-year-old lady is living each day to the fullest, with youthful vigor and abundance of energy.

And this short documentary of her dancing career actually caught my attention and got me thinking.

If age is just a number to me and will it matter to me when I hit my 50s and start feeling the joint pains?

After my usual self- reflection, one of the principles I held dearly, taught my soul that ...

How you live today will determine your tomorrow.

As what Constance Ejuma points out, “today is my tomorrow,” and this quote is a stark reminder that the actions you take today will have a tremendous impact on your future. It’s the simple law of cause and effect, karma that every move has a consequence. And if you're a science lover, Newton's third law might sound more familiar.

Live in the moment. Focus on one day at a time. The most significant thing is to keep active.
 
 
 
 

These days I mostly write on Steemit. I still have my portfolio and personal sites- virtuallydebbie.com and debbieang.com. But these sites will eventually redirect you to my Steemit blog. Well, what can I say. If it’s good stuff, you can’t get enough of it :) Follow me, and I’ll take you through my journey filled with wilderness, curiosity and randomness.*
Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @deborism to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks @prokisch :) keep it up too

This post has received gratitude of 0.40 % from @appreciator thanks to: @deborism.

You got a 0.59% upvote from @upme requested by: @deborism.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80