You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finding Philosophy in Unlikely Places: "The Riddle of Steel" and What it Says About Self-Reliance

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Conan is great, congratulations on another Curie upvote!
"Valor pleases you, Crom... so grant me one request. Grant me revenge! And if you do not listen, then the HELL with you!" One of my favorites too.

Sort:  

Thanks.

Yeah it is a great scene. If I were to write a detailed critical work about the movie (something akin to a college paper), I might make it about how the film functions as a very rare example of an atheist fantasy (the other examples I would point to are the novels that Game of Thrones is based on but not the show itself). That is Crom never really helps Conan because the gods are not real. The other way one could go with it is that the movie is a right wing propaganda film. It follows pretty well given that it is a John Milius film. In that case, one could see the riddle of steel as a pro-gun message but I don't necessarily take that position lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68152.98
ETH 3536.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86