You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: O Consciousness, Consciousness, Wherefore Art Thou Consciousness? [A Philosophical Argument on the Nature of Consciousness]

in #philosophy7 years ago

Great article @alchemage.

I am not sure if everything is self aware and conscious but I definitely like the idea of it and I prefer to assume that's the case. My highly subjective experience of life seems to suggest that this is possible, but who knows. Just because I can talk with a stone or a tree, doesn't mean that they objectively speak to me. It might be all in my head.

I prefer to assume the universal consciousness because it helps me to be more empathic and take greater care of my environment. I see this as a philosophical and moral problem more than scientific one.

Sort:  

Everything is all in your head, and there's no way to prove otherwise. Every bit of understanding is processed through our sensory organs. Every measuring device has been created by our minds and is designed to work with our sensory organs. It is impossible to say beyond a doubt that everything is conscious, likewise impossible to say nothing is conscious.

I prefer to assume through experience and experiments that all things are conscious.

Philosophy can find its truths within science, science has its roots in Philosophy. ;)

Absolutely!

I like to think of the internet and technology in general as extensions of our senses. They are build to interact with our physicality, that we can not escape, but they expand what we can do biologically.

What I find fascinating about metaphysics, mysticisms and such, is that it allows us to speculate and make guesses about things we can not scrutinise scientifically just yet. Philosophy constitutes the basis of all science.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68092.03
ETH 3536.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75