You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you go into something expecting idiocy, then idiocy is likely what you will find.

in #philosophy7 years ago

Fantastic and inspirational post, Deva! I like the terminology of kraken and leviathan, but if I were to propose a term for the steem-oligarchs that use their power or influence to disadvantage others, I think 'orca' or 'killer whale' might be a good choice. As you noted, respect is key, Bushido and many marital arts include bowing to your opponent for precisely that reason, respect elevates a conflict or disagreement into something both people can learn from. It is immensely difficult to overcome the emotional block to learning something from someone who disrepects you. Your whole post made me think of that most famous of quotes from Spiderman:

Cheers!

Sort:  

I think 'orca' or 'killer whale' might be a good choice

Those terms have been used. Kraken was the go to at the time due to the fact these particular whales are also so much larger than most other accounts that are classified as whales.

I used that quote in a discussion with one of them. I told him "With great power comes great responsibility" and said that sometimes I get the impression instead he is thinking "With great power comes great opportunity".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88