Don't Sweat the Little Things 006

in #philosophy7 years ago

Evening my dearest steemians :) I hope everyone's week is wrapping up well and your crypto bags are nice and plump. The market has been ever in our favor these past few days with LTC having a nice little pump, as well as BTC having a nice bullish week.

Recently, I've been trying to get in the game of actively day trading my bags around seeing if I can accumulate a profit. So far I've had a little luck, but I don't quite have the volume in the game to make a huge profit. I have a buddy here on steemit, @zacharius who has played an integral part in my ever-expanding cryptoverse knowledge. Him, along with other family and friends, have taught me valuable lessons throughout my life shaping me into who I am now. You must be willing to learn through pride and joy, but also through shame and guilt in order to become who you want to be.

Which brings me to today's topic

Be Willing to Learn from Friends and Family

Some of the saddest observations I've seen centers around how reluctant many people are to learn from the people closest to us - our parents, spouses, children, and friends. Rather than being open to learning, we close ourselves off out of embarrassment, fear, stubbornness, or pride. It's almost as if we say to ourselves, "I have already learned all that I can from this person; there is nothing else I can learn."

It's sad really, because often the people closest to us know is the best. They are sometimes able to see ways in which we are acting in a self-defeating manner and can offer very simple solutions. If we are too proud or stubborn to learn, we lose out on some wonderful, simple ways to improve our lives.

I have tried to remain open to the suggestions of my friends and family. In fact, if you really want to achieve some self improvement ask a few friends or family members, "What are some of my blind spots?" Not only does this make the person you are asking feel wanted and special, but you end up getting some terrific advice. It's such a simple shortcut for growth, yet almost no one uses it. All it takes is a little courage and humility, and the ability to let go of your ego. This is especially true if you are in the habit of ignoring suggestions, taking them as criticisms, or tuning out certain members of your family. Imagine how shocked they would be if you asked them, sincerely, for their advice.

stay classy

Sort:  

I’ve enjoyed actively learning from you over the course of the years that we’ve known each other. Hopefully it continues for many years in the future as well :)

As a society, we were stacked in classrooms from a young age in schools that were and still are designed like a factory, the teacher is always the central authority in the classroom and he is always right, as students we were taught that sharing is cheating, helping others is cheating, I am not surprised that many of us are afraid to ask for advise since they taught us to compete with one another from a young age, Luckily a new industrial movement based on open source, sharing, blockchain, decentralization is taking shape right now and the future is looking more and more bright.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57