Don't Sweat the Little Things 005

in #philosophy6 years ago

Afternoon my fellow esteemed Steemians :) (see what I did there?)

It's been a loong minute since the last time I made a post about this thread. Apologies for that, been a hectic few weeks with some flu like symptoms and the spring semester starting back up. Still kicking ;)

When that illness I had was at it's peak, I found myself not being able to think, like at all. I couldn't keep a thought straight, but at the same time I found myself thinking about everything and anything (not much to do when you're bedridden). This carried over to a few nights while laying in bed trying to sleep. We've all been there, laying in bed and having racing thoughts, preventing you from entering the pure bliss that is slumber. So, I thought I would make a post about it clearing and quieting the mind when it is needed.

Quiet Your Mind

Blaise Pascal quoted

"All of humanity's problems stem from man's inability to sit quietly in a room alone"

I'm not sure I would go quite this far, but I am certain that a quiet mind is the foundation of inner peace. And inner peace translates to outer peace.

Although there are many techniques for quieting the mind, such as reflection, deep breathing, contemplation, and visualization, the most universal accepted and regularly used technique is meditation. In as little as five to ten minutes a day, you can train your mind to be still and quiet. This stillness can be incorporated into your daily life, making you less reactive and irritable, and giving you greater perspective to see things as small stuff rather than as emergencies. Meditation teaches you to be calm by giving you the experience of absolute relaxation. It teaches you to be at peace.

There are many different forms and variations of meditation. Essentially, however, meditation involves emptying your mind. Usually, meditation is done alone in a quiet environment. You close your eyes and focus your attention on your breath - in and out, in and out. As your thoughts enter your mind, you gently let them go and bring your attention back to your breath. Do this over and over again. Over time, you'll train yourself to keep your attention on your breath as you gently dismiss any stray thoughts.

You'll quickly discover that meditation isn't easy (trust me). You will notice that your mind will fill with thoughts the moment you attempt to keep it still. It's rare for a beginner to be able to focus attention for more than a few seconds. The trick to becoming an effective mediator is to be gentle on yourself and to be consistent. A few minutes each day will reap tremendous benefits, over time. You can probably find a meditation class in your community. Or, if you prefer, you can learn from a book, or better yet, an audiotape. I don't know many people I would consider to be at peace with themselves who haven't spent at least a little time experimenting with meditation.

Hope you enjoyed. Check out my page for my first four installments!
Upvotes always appreciated :)

As always, stay classy Steemians

Sort:  

You got a 5.23% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @cryptonewb!

@cryptonewb Your publication has been successfully shared, with more than 2483 Steemit users thank you for participating in the last edition of free reestem.
If you find my project useful, donate a vote to my comment
domino.jpg

You got a 2.71% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @cryptonewb!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.64% vote... I was summoned by @cryptonewb! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

You got a 1.63% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @cryptonewb!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64