You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it bad to kill people?

I have no problem with killing someone as long as it is for the right reasons. If you are acting in self defence then absolutely. If there is a terrorist attack then eliminating them is first prize. Poachers, rapists, murderers and Pedophiles I think could be added to the list as well. Unfortunately I live in a crime ridden country and have been bought up seeing things others wouldn't have experienced. I have seen how cheap life really is and I honestly believe the death penalty should fit the crime committed. I believe you lose any rights as a human being when you cross over the line and the criminals know exactly what they are doing.

Sort:  

As long as you realise that your moral judgements are individual or social and not absolute (not the same for all or applicable for all), I think we're on the same page. The social contract, relative to every community, may be abstract but it's very real and going against it has, and should have for our safety, real consequences. Now, about killing non-offending pedophiles, I'm not sure about that. I mean, unless that's your kink ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

If you haven't offended then you are safe then. We are on the same page and agree with what you say.

Dear @cryptosharon

Wouldn't you agree that if there would be no punishment for killing someone, then very quickly our values (as entire society) would change.

Wouldn't you agree @cryptoandcoffee?

Cheers
Piotr

Definitely :) If there were changes in society (such as allowing to kill people without punishment), society would change. ;)

That make sense

You make sense too 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I can only hope that I wont ever end up on your "kill for the right reason" list @cryptoandcoffee :)

But yeah, I kind of agree. The truth is that if there would be no punishment for killing someone, then very quickly our values (as entire society) would change.

Wouldn't you agree @cryptoandcoffee?

Cheers
Piotr

I agree as it has to depend on the reason. I live in a society where life is cheap and isn't valued. I think the obvious ones like self defense are self explanatory. I think ones like poachers hunting Rhino for instance are robbing the world of something precious for a stupid horn that has more value than gold. I think in order to protect the Rhino now as their current methods are not working very well is to have a shoot to kill policy.

Are you in South Africa?

Posted using Partiko Android

I know it has one of the highest crime rates in the world (4th? Venezuela is the first). Usually when people mention the small value of life its in high crime zones, overpopulated areas and certain kind of cultures.

Rhino = Africa, you're white, in a high crime area, and you talk about coffee in your name (middle/upper class with European culture). That's SA. :P

That or an expat. Those are very few in in black African countries that I know of. Most are in Qatar and other Arab states which are not very concerned with Rhinos.

You are more like a detective lol. Been here too long and that is why I think like I do maybe. I have seen too much and this has made me a little harder than most people and nothing really shocks me anymore.

Dear @cryptoandcoffee

I only had a chance to read your comment a moment ago. Somehow I've missed it before.

Appreciate the fact that you're always so responsive.

I live in a society where life is cheap and isn't valued.

Do you mind sharing with me where do you live?

Cheers, Piotr

Hmm I wonder what such a society would be like, where it's normal for people to kill each other all the time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62