You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Majority is always right!

in #philosophy8 years ago (edited)

"People won't throw out basic concepts of morality..."

But people, yourself included as evidenced by both your article and your response to my comment, all too cheerfully "throw out basic concepts of morality" based on such indoctrinated but false notions as "it's the only way," and "you have to have" this or that." It is immoral to initiate force against your neighbor, no matter your cause.

"What happened to the tribesman who ignored the chieftain?"

Because he was destroyed, does that justify the chieftain's act? Should my fear induce me to "go along to get along?" Because the majority is scared shitless that my unvaccinated child will spread disease among them, shall I accede to their mass-delusional, ignorant, fear-driven "wisdom" and stand idly by while their "political" force holds my beloved child down and inserts toxic poisons into his bloodstream?

I of course cannot "ignore" authority, but only because I must resist, flee, hide from, and outsmart it at every turn. I do not need authority given back to me "in a systematic way," I already possess it inherently and will not willingly relinquish it to either you or your mob.

"...you have to have that level of agreement between people in order to introduce a radical change."

I have no problem whatsoever with authentic agreement - case in point, this marvelous blockchain-based platform that we are presently using as the medium for a peaceful discussion, Steemit. It is clear that my agreement with you alone or a million other Steemians confers no right upon us to become oppressors who impose our consensus upon a single individual who is not in agreement with us.

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49