You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fatalism and the Law of Attraction

in #philosophy7 years ago

I like the way your mind works. I also contemplate these things.

Are you familiar with Caroline Myss? She discusses the law of attraction, free will, and the difference between fate and destiny very compellingly.

I think that the law of attraction has been copted for the mainstream, which continues the same old vending machine in the sky god.

I have a lot of issues with the law of attraction as i have seen it presented, and have observed a lot of people trying to live new age lives. It becomes very solipsistic in practice.

When I did the Magician medicine bag, I finally read the 7 hermetic principles, and realized that a lot of spiritual / new ageisms derive from hermetics, which is a huge rabbit hole. Magick is made at the level of choice and becoming is an alchemical process involving reality (fate) and our free will in choosing what to do with it (destiny).

Much love and thanks for making me think <3

Sort:  

I'm going to have to look into her for sure. I am not a big fan of the picture that things like The Secret paint of LoA, so I can see the turn off with the whole "new agey" thing. I think people don't fundamentally get that there is no competition in existence and that wanting to do "the right thing" for any reason is more or less about wanting to "win." There is nothing to win if it's all about the experience. It just is what it is.

Well said!

I like to make mine an interpretative dance ;)

Cheers and I hope your "is" is what-it-is wonderful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64316.24
ETH 2748.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65