You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Corrupt Sense of Fairness

in #philosophy8 years ago

There are people flagging my posts and comments out of nothing but malice because I pointed out their plagiarism. So, in the current system, when you try to be principled and stand up against spam, you get punished rather than rewarded. I couldn't call that "fair" in any way, when it happens to me, or anyone else.

Sort:  

I think this is mostly UI issue. Too much good job (pointing out plagiarism) goes unseen currently. Plagiarist hunters are getting way too few upvotes for their valuable work.

But on the other hand, plagiarists are usually downvoted so their reputation will suffer and their votes won't have much effect if they decide to revenge.

In World of Warcraft or in the gaming world it's called griefing. The purpose of griefing is to take the sense of win from someone else. We already know from the gaming community that this is the behavior of a griefer and griefing has a negative effect on the overall funness of the game.

Downvoting for reasons not outlined in some sort of manifesto, rules or personal criteria, is possibly just griefing. When it's justified then at least people have to break some rules first.
References

  1. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Griefer

@condra, I want to thank you for being a plagiarism hunter. If every noob, like me, did a quick check before upvoting, we'd catch a lot and with lower personal repercussions. But I plead wuss to this cause. I can thank you, though, and acknowledge that I have benefited from the grief you've taken. Somebody has to do it, but that never had to be you. Thank you for sacrificing yourself. You're a good citizen.

"negative voting" will need to be separated from reputation...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54506.20
ETH 2881.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03