You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The importance of TRUTH

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Socrates and his I know, I know nothing. Sadly many do not recognize that this sentence is a contradiction in terms. It being a contradiction is why it is true. I would say to the Gadfly, please give me the dimensions of the tools you are using. If you cannot, are not your principals merely projections of your imagination (known today as objectivity). If so, why should I or anyone subject ourselves to your imagination.

I would say to Plato. Who is responsible for the shadow of truth on the wall's of the allegory of the caves? It is there you will find your true power.

I would say the exact same thing that I would share with Socrates too Aristotle. The objective truth is that all men/women have the capacity to develop intellectually. The subjective truth is that not all men/women choose to develop their intellectual capacity. Thus the below quote from your post is a objective truth that is dependent upon the principals garnered in the mind, which is dependent upon the mind being used.

But, we have to say that not all men can develop intellectual capacity at the same level; therefore, they cannot achieve happiness at the same level.

The truth is dependent upon the senses of the mind seeking it, and is why we merely see shadows of the truth and not the truth directly (Allegory of the caves). The tools of the mind we use are after all imaginative (Principals) that cannot be measured directly. It is the fact that those principals are subject to the mind using them that render's truth to a shadow. Proving in my mind that each individual is the king of his universe. Rendering us all by natural law Kings without vassals. We become slaves when we seek to break natrual law by enslaving others to our objective principals.

I am impressed with your post. A very nice historical rendition of the philosophy of the past.

Sort:  

We cannot lead the world into a better one if we do not start with the wisdom shared with us in the past. So I decided to go back to the firsts that answered the questions of what truth was or whether it was relative or not. Today the concept of truth seems to have no material value for the people. Today is all about feelings and sensations. A world deepens in its own egocentrism that everyone owns the truth.

Kind of funny, but if you see my original comment I reversed objective and subjective. I agree with you that wherever it is not necessary we should not attempt to reinvent the wheel. I only wish that the reward for writing the post was commiserate with its value. If it was you could have a nice vacation this year. A well deserved one at that.

Nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56