Philosophical Discussion Panel: Is intuition the voice of the soul?steemCreated with Sketch.

imageedit_32_9978472303.gif

Philosophical Discussion Panel is a Discussion panel operating exclusively on steemit.com that pays you a portion of the pay out for comments.

We appreciate your interaction, so each comment gets rewarded.


Is intuition The Voice.png

Intuition is a feeling that you get when you know something is true, or you know something is right.

Intuition is an unshakable feeling that cannot be swayed by logic.

It is a gut feeling and a primal instinct - but who's voice is it?

Is intuition the voice of the soul?

While in these physical bodies, it would seem that we are separate....and we are.

We are separate from the divine, intelligent super consciousness that guides and directs all things...
Yet we are only separate from it in the sense that we are individual beings with the self-given gift of free will.

We are apart of this divine intelligence through our connection of feeling, which falls in tandem with intuition.

Intuition is essentially a good feeling that "you" , pick up or receive that guides you in the direction that you need to go.

Intuition is a high vibrational feeling that we get that guides us in the process of making decisions.

Without the power of our intuition, we would find ourselves stranded in the valley of decision, unable to make a choice to determine the best possible outcome and quality of our lives.

From my perspective, as a philosopher who has thought the process through, it would appear that intuition is available to us because it connects us to a higher aspect of ourselves.

Personally, I believe this thing we call "the soul" , is really the same as this thing we call "God".

I basically choose to believe that there is an intelligent, conscious force that everything is connected to which guides us on our journey here on earth.

Is it possible that there IS a higher force such as this, that everything is connected to, that guides us all along our path and orchestrates events?

Is it possible that human beings have free will and are individual, but are guided by this higher aspect of themselves that knows fully exactly what their souls want because it essentially is the higher aspect of their soul?

Is it possible that, as such, this force guides us towards what is more pleasurable and more "right" for us, through intuition?

Is it possible that we, metaphorically, are walking up a hill, perhaps in search of water, and cannot see the top, and so maybe want to give up, and walk back down the hill, thinking that the hill is so high that there couldn't possibly be any chance of water and that if we go back down we might find something, but our higher voice is there to guide us up the hill because it KNOWS that there is water, and that once we find it, we will also find shade, food, shelter, and another being in the same situation.

And so because it knows what your highest excitement is, and what is best for you (because it is the voice of the higher you) , it speaks back to you through intuition the voice of your highest excitement / best interest?

Is it possible that our intuition is a result of us being connected to a higher power which the higher aspect of our selves is one with?

A power that is the highest aspect of all things that guides and directs all miracles and events according to this connection?

Its possible, and doesn't seem too far fetched, but I'm sure somebody knows a lot more than me, and I'd love to hear your opinion...

So leave a comment below and get paid in steem.


Thank you for your participation.

Sort:  

Congratulations @coloured-content! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Please take the time to read and comment!

Well..they say it's your guardian angel talking to you.

Some books.I think one from Doreen Virtue.

Hey, great post! Honestly, I think this takes intuition too spiritually though. Your intuition isn't always right, or good. I think it is inherent to the mindset that a person imposes on their reality. For example racists might have intuition that tells them minorities don't belong, or hunters might have an intuition that tells them hunting is where they are meant to be in nature. But neither of these ideals are always held for fact or reason, sometimes only intuition and gut feeling. I think intuition is simply autopilot in a way, it allows people to make decisions based on their withheld philosophies, without identifying in their mind what those philosophies are.

I heavily disagree with your comment, do you want to have a debate about it?

I would love tooooo :) Rant away!!!

yay! So I agree in general with the statement that intuition is not always right. I believe it is much more often right than wrong, though.

Racists always have an ideology to back up their racism. Genetic superiority is not based on your feelings. It is missguided information.

You need to talk more to extremists. They will have thousands of reasons why you should share their view. Some of them might be emotional. But emotions is not the same as instincts.

Hunting is also a very complex instinct. Many hunters kill for fun, they get more violent the more hungry they are. Look at Orcas playing with their food, cats playing with their food, wolves killing whole herds of sheep, even tho they cant eat them all.

Is a person's belief genetic superiority not EVER based on your feelings though? Not to get toooooo dramatic but imagine, hitler definitely was misguided by his beliefs. But I don't think he was misguided by information, but his " feelings " (or maybe outlook) about Arian superiority and jewish social conflict. I understand all these arguments, I'm 100% with you, but what you are pretty much saying is that there are other alternatives to why people believe their ideologies. These arguments, however, don't really discredit the possibility that the reason for any belief is an intuition, what you state are simply alternative, possibly more fact driven scenarios. In any case, the main idea is that really almost any belief can be driven by intuition in at least 1 describable scenario, which to me suggests these intuitions actually lack value unless they are grounded in fact. Example if two people in year 0 have no background in science or astronomy, one has the intuition the earth is flat, the other it is round. Are these intuitions not lacking in value or at least equal in value until they can be describe by observations in the real world?

So if we consider Freuds Theories to be true, we are born with instincts and they can not be learned. If you think racism has it roots in feelings, you are saying that there are natural born racists. Their racism can only be surpressed.

Also saying someone is racist by genetics, sounds pretty racist to me, bud ;D

That's if we consider his theory to be true, which I don't really. Like I've already said I'm not saying ALL racism is based on feelings, I'm saying there are examples where it is possible racism might be based on nature or nuture or insitinct or intuition or etc.... just like any opinion or belief. There are many different reasons people believe what they believe. Second I never EVER said anyone is racist by their genetics? You really are reading my arguments wrong.

welp, I actually know what you mean. There are instincts like the group behavior were we tend to attack people outside of our group. Racism plays with these emotions of belonging to a group.

Still Ideologies are born in the mind, the emotions are just tools that make the ideology sustainable.

Your intuition isn't always right, or good.

What is intuition?

racists, have intuition that tells them minorities don't belong

But is that really "intuition", or do they not see others as the same as them because they are uncomfortable with themselves or have not experienced oneness?

hunters might have an intuition that tells them hunting is where they are meant to be in nature.

.. where they are meant to be in nature. ? I have no idea what your were trying to say here.

But I guess to determine whether hunters can have an intuition about hunting you have to establish their reason for hunting, what it means for them, and if it is ":right", "wrong" , or both neither and both at the same time.

What are the grounds of your hypothesis that hunters cannot have an intuition because it may " tells them hunting is where they are meant to be in nature."

Both hunters and racists follow intuition - as does (so it would seem) any living spiritual / physical being ..

I'm so confused though, "what are the grounds of your hypothesis that hunters cannot have intuition", because the misunderstanding must have been much deeper if that's what you pulled from my post. Anyone can have intuition, and everyone does. But that doesn't make it worth anything. If your intuition tells you X and my intuition tells me Y and literally HITLERS intuition tells him Z, why should any intuition be valued at more than another unless it holds truth in reality? If they aren't to be valued more than each other, (that is if some intuitions are not more correct or just in some form) than what can even be their significance? We all definitely have intuitions, I just don't believe they're worth much.

lol.

We dont have "intuitions"...

We have intuition.

Idk yo, here's the wiki definition: Intuition (a noun) is the ability to acquire knowledge without proof, evidence, or conscious reasoning, or without understanding how the knowledge was acquired. Seems a lot like what I was describing.... Besides the point, I said " If your intuition tells you X and my intuition tells me Y and literally HITLERS intuition tells him Z, why should any intuition be valued at more than another unless it holds truth in reality?" Why do I need bother defend myself over the use of an "s" one place if you don't recognize the meat of the argument which falls in line with your "not intuitions, have intuition" grammar nonsense, tel me when in that quote I didn't use it properly. Atleast offer a rebuttal or something... lol

Wikipedia?

Definitions should never be seen as set and can always be added to or have info extracted from them...

However, in the case of intuition, I think that is an accurate definition.

It is knowing something for sure without the need for proof.

For example, you may have an intuition that somebody has kidnapped your daughter, and may have no logical proof, but if you do not follow your intuition and your daughter actually was kidnapped....well now you are just an idiot.

If you can know something for sure without proof or evidence, wouldn't this provoke thought of the possibility that intuition is from a higher, more knowledgeable source?

In the case of intuition that guides in the "wrong" direction (murders millions) , the intuition could have been spot on and Hitler could have played a very vital roll in providing humanity with a certain experience.
....or it could have not been intuition at all....

I am not here to tell you that intuition is always right and can never be wrong...

But I am here to ask you the question: " If it feels right, how can it be wrong"?

Yooo this is a great comment, but do you still not see what I'm trying to say... YES!!! You are right if dont follow through with your intuition and she was kidnapped your an idiot, but you are also an idiot then if you follow through with your intuition and she was not kidnapped. Intuitions are valuable if they give you foresight into an event in a way that you may deem 'from a higher source', but that entails (to me to deem from a higher source) that they are TRUE in the real world. I'm here to try and say that intuitions can be right AND wrong, but the intuition that your daughter is kidnapped is just parents unwarranted worrying UNTIL the child is actually kidnapped right? I think that there is an answer to that question "how can it feel right and be wrong", if the intuition doesn't hold up with the rest of the world. If it clashes with our understanding of a social contract and civilized society it should deservingly be met with some scrutiny. We can't have theives, rapists, murderers and the likes claiming what they do isn't wrong because "it feels right".

and would it really have been better or more pretentious of me to use like an oxford or webster dictionary definition of the word. you'd just be like ooo blah blah anyways no? it's just a definition what does it matter.

Puh, heavy, but a very good text. Glad you stopped by the other so I could follow ;3.

I myself am very fond of the human instinct. I like it for the very same reasons you do. To you it is the sign of a higher power, a god. To me it is just the awesomeness of nature. I am an atheist, but I respect religious people. Hat the image people like Bill Maher and Thunderfoot gave us Atheists.

I often stumbled into the following scenario in social encounters: I want to say something. My gut says "no!", but my mind convinces me that it is really harmless and funny what I want to say. I say it and people get mad because I somehow broke some unwritten social rules that nobody really grasps.
I learned to trust my guts a lot more. And this was of course just an example.

To you it is the sign of a higher power, a god.
]

No, to me it is the connection to a higher power, a force.

... I am not very religious...unless you mean in the regard of religious about making money or religious about philosophy.

I am that I am.....

I am not aetheist or religous.

i thought you were religious. So you consider yourself an agnosticer ?

I basically choose to believe that there is an intelligent, conscious force that everything is connected to which guides us on our journey here on earth.

???

A power that is the highest aspect of all things that guides and directs all miracles and events according to this connection?

!?!?!

I basically choose to believe that there is an intelligent, conscious force that everything is connected to which guides us on our journey here on earth.... and that we are a part of.

A power that is the highest aspect of all things that guides and directs all miracles and events according to this connection? ....yes

Isn't that pretty much the definition of agnosticism?

My intuition caused me to become a member of Steem. In the older model, we (the eyes that look at the content) are the product. Yet, were charged and 'regulated' on the content we could see. I read about Steem, it reasonated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77