Sort:  

Yes, it might first sound strange. But what he means by time is psychological time and not physical time. In that sense I think it is very revealing.

I have never heard of psychological time. Some things that I can think of that are related to time and psychology:

  • the perception of time
  • time passes when you are thinking
  • you can think about the past, present, or future
  • something about time as an epiphenominon of motion, but maybe you want to say it is an epiphenomenon of thinking (see my comment here and look for 'epiphenomenon')

If you read the link on the last bullet point, I think what he is saying is close to my fourth bullet point (but I don't agree, other than to agree to the metaphor). Support for the fourth bullet point comes from above:

One should really, if one may point out, hold it in your mind, not think about it, but just observe the whole movement of time, which is really the movement of thought.

I would not agree that time is movement of thought, since I believe that time existed before any thoughts existed, but I can see the metaphor via the fourth bullet point.

I don't think we agree on the details, but I think we are thinking about something that has a lot of similarities.

thank you for the input @cnacws!

interestingly enough, I also recently came to realize that time is attached to motion in the physical world. The idea of it being an epiphenomenon makes sense to me.

I made a post about time a few months ago:
https://steemit.com/philosophy/@tobetada/584yk2-on-the-nature-of-time

Psychological time means the movement of thought. The "time" that it takes for thinking to transpire. Would there be (inner/psychological) time without thinking/thought?

It seems to me that there would only remain the time which you have pointed out: an epiphenomenon of movement in the physical world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68905.09
ETH 3808.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48