You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You a Philosophizer or an Opportunist?

in #philosophy7 years ago

I think that philosophy is an end in itself, an enjoyment, and not a guide for taking action.
That being said, I am by nature a philosopher, but for around 15 years now I have created the self-discipline to make myself into an opportunist. It took a long time for me to learn to take action and become a doer and not just a thinker, but now I am in the habit I do it all the time. That isn't to say that I don't enjoy some good philosophizing and debate with friends as an enjoyable activity. I am just living my life much more proactively now than ever before.

And although I don't think book smarts and street smarts are incompatible, the former can lead one to not learning the latter, mostly by undervaluing it. I was raised to be booksmart and excel in school that didn't do me one bit of good when I was given the chance to enter the business world. Luckily I had other qualities I hadn't realized I had and was able to take advantage of the opportunity.

Sort:  

Yeap, usually one has to get their feet wet with both and at some point in time decide to put all those words into action. We are all philosophers in my view. The point is what we do with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44