Sort:  

The problem that I see is that the word "truth" doesn't mean what it used to mean. The standard dictionary definition doesn't seem to apply any more. It seems to get thrown around rather loosely now days.

Everyone's perception is different. Each individual's reality is uniquely intangible

"In essence, if you control the facts or the narrative, you control the truth.". So says O’Brien in 1984.

There is no truth.

I don't think I'd ever heard the term "post-truth". Enlightening views. I think truth is strongly tied to ones perspectives. Great post :)

A lot of this might be semantics, but I think that it's more about the aspirational truth versus the subjective truth. For example, an aspirational truth is what we think the world should be like- black and white, no greys, based on facts and objectivity. Not messy at all, which is not what the real world is like. The truth is the truth is the truth- right?
Subjective truth is understood more as you gain wisdom. You know the world is never clean cut and easy- everyone has a different view of the world that colors their "truth".
Like I said, semantics.

Maybe the whole "post-truth" term came about because so many people are black and white thinkers? I personally feel all truth is subjective to a certain extent, but it doesn't mean I don't still have some ideals I would like the world to uphold. I just feel the universe is more "true neutral" and doesn't really give a fuck about any of our ideals or beliefs of right and wrong. The way I tend to view it is the universe doesn't say that my ideals are any more or less right than anyone else's ideals and whatever aspirations we have are nice and all, but we probably shouldn't get too hung up on those.

I think the "post truth" term came around because our government has proven itself to be untrustworthy time and time again, and people have finally stopped believing their bs. It's taken decades, but with the advent of the internet and smartphones it's a lot harder to hide (in some ways/completely).

This post received a 15% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57276.13
ETH 2437.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39