Sort:  

I like where I am, but the US could definitely do better. We have way too much government, way way too many citzens who do not acknowledge this simple fact, and we are going downhill fast. You are not "free to leave" either. You can try to move to some place with less government, but our government will keep the taxes they stole from you....

I think there's no exception. almost all countries in the world are the same. It's the system and the winning one are the one who wrote the whole history and feed us to believe it when we are still young. In school and on any media. Sometime we are almost lost.. Dunno about the real truth

Even if I move to a more favorable country I have to live their 5 years to even apply for citizenship in most of them. It's a shitty system when you never agree to be a part of it and have no way out of it.

If I am free to leave then why must I pay a tax to do so?

I think you are making a small though important mistake here: You're not paying taxes and fees to leave a nation/society/governmental areal. You pay to enter/join another one. At least that's the case in most nations, obviously in countries like North Korea the situation is a bit different.

From what I know of US citizens, they actually have to pay a fee to revoke their US citizenship when they change nationality, otherwise the US still claims they owe taxes on their earnings. Some nations have agreements with the US in place to persue US expats for these taxes.

Ok, I didn't know that. - Anyway, it doesn't weaken my main argument that normally you are free to leave a nation but wouldn't have a place to go after that. - It's like terminating your rental contract. You can always do that, but as long as you don't have a new one (or at least a plan what to do after) you should probably just keep paying your landlord. :)

Yes, I agree, but from an anarchist perspective, this is basically coercion. One of the two things anarchists oppose.

I think we should invoke something like global citizenship.

Now that we have global currencies, global citizenship's are the obvious next step.

Screw current war mongering governments!

We can now simply take the power away from government by playing the crypto.

I tend to agree but also see a "one world government" as the same problem ultimately. We'd all still be subject to the rule and authority of that one government. I favor anarchy and decentralization of government to a much greater extent than it is now. Hopefully the future looks different.

but it wouldn't be a one world government.
each individual is his/her own government/banker, 7 billion governments.
It would be a global citizenship based on the distributed network.

Local government could be supported by smaller local applications which would be accountable via the distributed network.

I get it, we're of the same mindset for sure then. Decentralize government to the point that each person is their own government and can participate in any groups willingly.

Tell me about it, I am Venezuelan and I suppose you know about the totalitarian government we have over here.

Do you like libertarianism and have you heard or read Ayn Rand?

Ya, I used to consider myself libertarian... I'm truly more anarchistic in the end though.

I learn blockchain will give us freedom. We are tired of selfish desires of the so called government institution.

The Governments are failing in its bid to tackle modern slavery. Modern slavery is a heinous crime and tackling it should be a top priority for every welfare state.

This modern slavery won't stop, if the government don't stop being greedy. You work this people to death and give them peanuts, out if the peanuts you will still tax them, light bill, electricity bill, fees etc. Come on and when they ask for a raise they are being fired... Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52