Playful thoughts #2: Liberty is not for the faint of hearts

in #philosophy7 years ago

Some time ago I was thinking about why I felt so attracted to libertarianism. I came to the realization that my desire for liberty stems from a few things of which the following are the most important:

  1. my desire to be responsible for my own actions which means also being responsible for my own successes and failures;
  2. my desire to separate myself from other men and to preserve a distance of qualities that are valuable to me;
  3. my desire to be left alone in my private affairs;

(1) and (2) require the freedom to pursue my own needs, dreams, and preferences and reveal my will to become greater than other men. All the above clearly show the trust I place in myself.

It appears to me that liberty is not for the faint of hearts, and that the free man is actually a warrior. Has he not, in gaining authenticity, overcome the highest resistance of conformity? Has he not the strong will to assume responsibility for himself?


If you enjoy reading this article, please consider following me. I mainly write about philosophy, economics, and my travels.

Follow me @chhaylin
E-mail: [email protected]
Wordpress: www.chhaylinlim.wordpress.com
Sort:  

I agree with all 3 point @chhaylin

I suppose you could include it in with point #3 but I would also prefer to be allowed to keep the fruits of my labor and to decide how that capital is to be spent.

Yes. Keeping the fruits of your labour and deciding how that capital is to be spent are indeed very important as well. :)

As Spider-Man says, with freedom comes responsibility.

It does take a lot but I hope everyone will use their freedom wisely and not killing humanity... some may think that they're FREE to kill anyone... liberty, freedom has to be defined well.

I think Spider-Man says "with great power comes great responsibility." As a kid, I was a huge Spider-Man fan, and still believe that he's right. :D

Yes, freedom should be defined very well. I take the libertarian position that freedom comes from and is limited to self-ownership. You are free to do with your body and the fruits of your labour as you please. To kill someone is to take away another person's body, and is therefore an infringement to someone's self-ownership.

Oooppps! Haha. Yeah. Should be with great power. Thanks for clarifying

To have true autonomy, independence and freedom it does require a tremendous amount of energy.
You have to be committed and with that commitment comes the warrior like resilient mindset.
Great Post @chhaylin!

Thanks a lot! I appreciate your comment :)

Great post, I couldn't agree more about the warrior aspect, freedom is great but it sure can be terrifying at times.
Unfortunately, possibly for this same reason, freedom seems to be so unpopular these days; especially in the US and the West.
Please keep up the promotion of freedom, we need as many voices as we can get!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59