Sort:  

Why do you like MIT more?

The GPL is "weaponized", in such a way that a person cannot use code from a GPL program without making their own program GPL.

This allows more code to become open source. People cannot take without giving back.

Because I like giving people the freedom to do what they want with the software. GPL carries a copyleft and it bundles a particular philosophy. I'm a bit more libertarian. It also allows for profit firms that want to extend the software for their own products to collaborate on the main codebase.

This is a really old fight since the days of Stallman.

Hmm, I do see your side of it.

I'm rather neutral, with only a light favoring towards the GPL. I suppose that you need to do what works for you. Software should be fun to write. It's wizardry.

Not a political tool. Or at least it shouldn't be.

That's precisely why most of my code (including piston, python-graphene and python-steem) are MIT licensed.

Here's a nice presentation to watch on the topic:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64506.46
ETH 3417.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50