You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Toxic New Age Beliefs vs Consciousness, Ego & Kindness

in #philosophy8 years ago

I could have written this post. I got involved in metaphysics/new age movement back in the 80s, but I've always considered myself a realist. For all the positive thinking in the world didn't make my life any easier, but these same people would give me the "you're projecting," or "your negativity caused this or that." I was often accused of having "heavy energy" so because I wasn't bouncing around talking light and love, I was constantly called out for the way I made them feel, so I didn't keep friends long who were in that world. Pretty soon, I preferred the company of just regular every day people who didn't have to explain everything away due to some "energy" being off, or someone else's negativity, etc. Just folks who could say, "hey, I'm having a shitty day today" or I could say "I really fucked up" without getting a lecture on how I shouldn't think that way.

So thank you for keeping it real and saying it like it is.

Sort:  

Thanks Chaeya, It was written probably because I have been quite traumatized by some New Agers, I have to say I have met some really mean people who you could put into that genre of thinking, and it just boggles my mind how those that claim to be conscious and awake can treat their fellow human so badly!

Sigh, I hear you. Well, you I'll give you nothing but real, down-to-earthness. :) I wish your post had gotten more hits because you're telling it like it is. Slowly, I'm finding out that isn't necessarily what people want to hear.

No it doesn't seem to be! Writing about environmental issues isn't very popular either, not sure Steemit is for me but will hang in here since there are excellent people like you around! Nice to meet you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56