You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The lessons playing poker thought me - part 1

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Always pleasure to read well-written content about poker even though I haven't played in a while (maybe I'll try someday again at Steem Poker League). The main lesson I got from my poker days is the ability to handle risk and emotions, especially negative one's because they happen "way too often" in poker.

This way of thinking is something that poker forces you to embrace, because otherwise you'll constantly get frustrated and chase after losses. It's a way of thinking we can convert into everyday-situations aswell though. Sometimes doing our best isn't enough, and that's something we can't control. Instead of getting frustrated by that, we have to move on and give it another shot. Life isn't one nice, linear graph upwards. We have our ups and downs, and the only thing we have control over is to give ourselves the best odds possible to find new all time highs.

I think you summed up these thoughts right on point.

Also, I think some of the poker skills nicely translate into the crazy volatile world of crypto where markets are largely driven by emotions at the moment.

Sort:  

True stuff. I think I first got into cyrpto because of Doug Polk by the way, so there's that :D. Thanks for reading ! :)

Oh yeah, it was pleasant surprise when I discover Doug Polk doing crypto videos after I had forgotten him since my poker days. The quy got back into my favorite Youtubers ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50