You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kindness of a Stranger & Paying it Forward!

in #philosophy6 years ago

Just a minute, while I go get a tissue...okay. This was an emotional post for me to read. You see, my husband of 40 years played hockey, coached our sons' hockey teams, refereed and was the referee in chief for a minor hockey league. He lived for his hockey. So the story of you having to borrow the hockey equipment was a familiar one. It happens more often than you think.

Then the act of kindness you did for the older lady...well a few years ago that was me, loading groceries into the car, during the rain, a few days after I buried my husband. Although I am a bit younger than this lady, I know what it was like to be in her shoes. Only there was no one to give me a helping hand. I also remember what it was like, so I go out of my way to help others, because you never know just how bad a day they have had and your one small act of kindness goes a long way in making them feel better. Thank you for sharing your story.

Sort:  

Sorry nobody was there to lend you a hand in your time of need. I can't imagine how hard it would be to loose someone after being with them that long. My Wife and I have been together over 20 years and there is no way I can picture waking up tomorrow without her.

You somehow manage to work through the grief and carry on. But you do become keenly aware of small random acts of kindness. And the odd time, people do need a hug. They are free to give and receive but are worth their weight in gold.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97