You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lifehacks for the Mind | Part 6: If you HAVE to pick a belief might as well pick one that is useful...

in #philosophy6 years ago

If you spend time in adult care homes, where people are spending their last days, you will find a difference in peace between those who believe in spirituality & those who do not.

I think there is a big difference in healthier people as well. I was raised to be one of the science worshipping too smart for religion type of people. But In college I studied philosophy & came to the conclusion that no human is capable of anything more than belief. We can’t know anything for certain, so believing in something beneficial for yourself & others makes a lot of sense.

However, if I was part of a control structure & wanted to create easily herded sheeple, I would want them to believe they were nothing more than a temporary warm body & should thus fear death at all costs. People who fear death like this are much easier to manipulate than people who will gladly die for a good cause.

I very much like the way you articulated your thoughts on this topic. It’s extremely important

Sort:  

I feel so resonant to your take on things and I feel very grateful to have you in my circle on Steemit. Thank you for confirming this spiritual sentiment from your point of view, I used to be exactly the same way: Too smart for religion and not realizing that I had grown up in one nobody labels as such. Until I started digging somewhere and never stopped doing so.

It's meeting people like yourself that know their shit and have the heart in the right place that is the last drop of confirmation that I can't be all that wrong with my recent choices in interpreting what reality is, and more importantly what it is most likely NOT. Thank you for speaking your mind my friend and for all your support as well, it means a lot to me <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79