You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Never Have Money Once You Buy A House And A Car- True Or False?

in #philosophy7 years ago

Agreed. Mostly. And it all depends. We married in our thirties, a good age spread of nine years. We both had prior careers, then joined the military in the US. Because of the banksters' games, the American Dream is all but gone and we quickly realized that. We talked about expatriating after our one term of service. But our parents had good foresight. We both had scholarships to college and worked our tails off to graduate debt free, a little kick in the tail from family. Got jobs, rented some real dives. No debt! Then I started day trading (had just entered the workforce at age 20 with a BS degree) because the $16.49 an hour was not enough to live on (just shy of $35,000 a year here). I drive used cars to this day. We don't have a car payment and both vehicles are paid for, fifteen years old, about $10 a month for liability and a hundred bucks a year for tag and taxes. Because they are cars, we spend about $70 a month on fuel. We paid off our home that was purchased 3 years ago. I opted to stay home and raise kids. So, our income is easily half. But not really. We homeschool. Use cloth diapers. Line dry. I cook all meals at home and we buy in bulk, managing to eat on $10 a day for all four. We read (no television) and stay outdoors. We spend money on memberships to local venues like the zoo, aquarium, science center. Built a home gym to avoid monthly fees. Pay into several retirement vehicles (shout to Perpetual Assets and cryptos!). I don't shop. We go on cheap dates 1-2 times a month. I iron, mow, plumb, paint, garden, can, sew, play music, write, educate, cook, make baby food, manage money, help others where we can. My husband works. But I work! If I got paid, it would be near to $600,000 a year for all the little things and big things. Moms are worth multiple millions a year.

Yes, it all depends. Marriage is work. Family is work. Clean living in this world is WORK! But with God ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE.

The long and short of it. So here is the short: you CAN own a house and car and not get swallowed by either. Just be reasonable in ownership and a good steward of your blessings and they won't suck you dry.

I disagree with people who chime in that kids cost SO a much money. Hey, I'm way more costly without children - eating out, travel, shopping. But right now I'm not paying for daycare and we are not paying someone else to do all the stuff we can DIY.

I hope this helps! Don't get frustrated. The things of this Earth will all pass away.

Sort:  

I think your philosophy is great !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45