You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Celebrating our differences - Thoughts on echo chambers

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

I cant say I tuned in for it last night, but that's a lovely experience to have, and I'm glad you found it educational. As long as people are willing to work through their problems, I'm very much of the opinion that having a team built up of very different people can outperform a team of like-minded people. We all bring with us different experiences, views, tastes, opinions and considerations. Shaping a product or community to only fit one type of mindset takes away from all the positives that can be found in the other point of view. As much as we act like the world is black and white, it's actually just many shades of gray.

Me and my research partner, @jaegar, were discussing this two nights ago actually. We were talking about how we will often times debate a topic into the ground when we run into disagreements, however we both agreed that the agreed-upon idea we both like in the end always ends up being better than either idea we came into the debate with. He's a smart guy, so when he does not like something I pitch, I know it means that I must have missed something, and likewise with me to him.

It's okay to be told no, as long as the other side can explain their point of view. We're all human, and even when we're absolutely certain of something, there is always a point of view that can be examined which offers new informations, or there is always a new approach that is worth considering.

I'm glad to hear you had such a productive talk, and thank you for sharing your views on echo chambers. We definitely need to try to avoid echo chambers, or at the very least, look outside the echo chamber for reality checks more frequently in our society.

Sort:  

It's okay to be told no, as long as the other side can explain their point of view.

I'm going to steal that phrase from you.... ;)

thanks for chiming in... and thank you for reading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70