Why are we chasing money - day 1

in #philosophy5 years ago

Understanding my urge to earn

To understand why we need money, we need to understand the origin of requirement for money. Humans are social animals, money or appreciation of any product started with a requirement of needing the product which we do not possess.

If a human was self sufficient then there would be no need for money, but we want another persons time. We are paying for the time and energy of another human. A billionaire is able to afford many lifetimes worth of products, Some products do require a lifetime. We humans are essentially trying to live more than a lifetime by living the life of another person. Of course this not exact because there is some mixing between energy from humans and the earth made possible with machines.A human works along side a machine which uses energy from earth such as coal or oil.

Why does it seem wrong?

When someone asks me why I want money, I would say for my survival and for my pleasures. So i started recording data on where I am spending money. I observed a lot of things from own behavior. Survival was actually not that hard but living the life we find pleasurable is very hard.

here is the quarterly spend analysis chart for one of my bank accounts and I know for sure other bank accounts would have a similar trend.

Screenshot_2019-01-23-13-18-29-55_LI.jpg
Screenshot_2019-01-23-13-18-33-61_LI.jpg

Every human has a defensive mechanism inside ourselves which defends our actions that we cannot classify as good or bad. only 19% of my money was actually used on necessary things and others on expenses which i can probably live without. The data just shows I am not the person I aspire to be (yet), I am not special or any different from those whom i be a harsh critic of. I am every bit of the greedy consumer as modeled but writing about myself gives me strength to change that and try to live a self-satisfying life.

Pondering upon my own actions

What is the need to write a post analyzing my expenditure and debating why living pleasurably is questionable?. Most of us beginners here on steem are trying to sell our energy and time in hopes of good earnings. Maybe we need to take the money out of the equation and post content which we enjoy.

Be the alternative

I look at steemit to be an alternative to Youtube and forums which exist separately on the internet. But we cannot just copy and paste all the existing content from google. If we are the alternative we must compete with the quality of content that youtube and forums provide.

Let's have a discussion

How do we create mainstream content which can compete at the level of youtube and others. Do we copy them first and then innovate?. Is there already an innovative method that i do not know about?. Please do share your ideas and thoughts about how to hide the factor of money from our content and just have fun with steemit and let the earnings be more natural. I see a lot of calculation behind up-votes, comments and almost every action in steemit. I m starting to wonder maybe the mainstream entertaining part and fun part is lost in the calculation. Critics are welcome and for supporters i love you guys

Kudos fellas!!!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @bogar! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85