This is My First Post on Steemit

in #philosophy6 years ago

Dear Fellow Human Beings,

As a musician, writer, teacher, philosopher, and someone doing his best to enjoy and be grateful for life as it unfolds in this moment, I am honored to now be an active member of this community. Wow! How cryptocurrency and blockchain technology already seem to be changing lives. . .amazing!

The way that I typically earn my living is as a voice teacher. My students come from a wide variety of backgrounds, on five continents, and between them, they sing just about every kind of music you have heard of or could imagine. They also include people of all ages, both sexes, and every level of artistic achievement and skill - from novice to seasoned professional. For years, I have worked to discover the inner workings of the human voice, and how it integrates with a singer's innate musicianship and unique personality, to generate beautiful music and beautiful lives. What people get out of studying with me generally includes major increases in vocal and musical ability, and improved well-being, on every level. That's what has happened consistently over the past two decades of my work, and continues to happen on a daily basis in my studio.

One of my greatest challenges has been to keep the singer/artist/performer/soloist part of myself alive, while I primarily earn my living by teaching and developing others. This is a unique challenge, and to answer it well seems to be intimately connected to my own well-being. Hence, it is to be the subject of research I am doing towards a doctorate in musicology. (One of my students is a professor of musicology, and I owe greatly her for convincing me that my work needs to be documented in that way.)

As a philosopher, or put simply, someone who loves wisdom and who aspires to live wisely and well each day as the driving factor of my life, I consider it my duty to be in dialogue with those who share my values, and with those who I might usefully influence or who might usefully influence me. In that spirit, I welcome comments, connections, collaborations and friendships!

Yours very truly,
Nathaniel

Bodilessvoice.me

Sort:  

@bodilessvoice, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote!
Will you give me a follow? I'll follow you back in return!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52