Are We Lucky??

in #philosophy7 years ago

I've been disappointed. I've had times when i felt my efforts to achieve something had been a waste because some other so called lucky people seemed to get it as if it had meant to be theirs to achieve the whole time. But is it just our luck, our destiny? Is it really just meant to be? If you ask me, I don't think so. I say that luck doesn't exist and depending upon luck for the better of our future is being foolish.

I am a science student. I do not believe in luck. According to my perception, all the things which happen must have a cause, either material or spiritual, and do not occur due to lack, chance or fade.

But sometimes situations make even skeptics like me think otherwise. It makes one believe in a presence of luck as there are such things whose outcome do not depend on skill or effort. When a person wins more than once in a lottery or even one time, he doesn't win because he's an expert lottery player. He's just lucky. I say, work hard and make your own good luck. Good luck or bad luck, we are responsible for it. So, control luck and do not let luck control you.

luck-skill.jpg
Source

Maybe this thing called good luck was made up to make one feel optimistic towards his doings. Like when we find a four leaf clover out of those thousands of three leaf clovers we feel lucky. It brightens our mood or even brings positive attitude towards oneself. If you're ever found one any day, you might remember that you felt a little more confident about anything that you were getting involved with that day. That is all good until the point where you start needing a four leaf clover or a "sign" for you to feel confident about anything. We make our own luck.

Luck, to me, is something else and that something is called hard work. As somebody once said, "shallow men believe in luck. Strong men believe in cause and effect.

I'll word hard. I will keep climbing to the top. I will keep climbing to the top. When I keep on gathering achievements, people will say "She keeps on being at the right place at the right place at the right time. How lucky!" But i will know how much effort i put into. I will know how much i had o work to get to where i got to where i got to. People will always call me lucky. But i'll know the real reason.

Thank you for your time!
@Bindu

Sort:  

Thanks for your thoughts. I agree that luck is a misunderstood concept, and one that leads many people to make poor decisions hoping to get "lucky". To me, making your own luck is about creating situations in which positive things are more likely to happen to you. Sure, some might think you're lucky to get that promotion, but you know that the hard work you put in put you in a better position than your colleagues to get it. There's still luck involved (nothing is 100% guaranteed), but in the long run you'll be much "luckier" than your colleagues that don't put in the same work. So even though in any given situation luck can play a big role, overall the people that do the best are those that make their own luck by working hard!

Thank you for your concern!

Maybe this thing called good luck was made up to make one feel optimistic towards his doings.

I think this is the key. If you go into something with a positive attitude and the correct mindset, you are more likely to do well. Our mind is our biggest weapon if used correctly but also can be our greatest enemy if we let evil thoughts take over. You can work hard all you want but without the correct mindset, you will never get where you want to. This is something that I've been trying to adapt more and more too.

I respect your thoughts

Yes you are saying correct in my life also same thing happend i dont have a luck to get a good job ..i completed my engineering with 76%..i have good skills but every time i failed in interviewws.....

Aww... don't lose hope. You will succeed one day. Thank you for going through my article

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53