Get Free From the Past. Build Habits to CHOOSE Your Best Self Into Existence.

in #philosophy8 years ago (edited)

Every day I choose my skin. I chose the words that I use to program myself. The momentum of yesterdays holds me from freshness, from a spring rain, from a mountain stream. I walk into the river of my life every day fresh. At least hypothetically.

It's possible, I know, yet I dilly. I dally in memories. There must be some things things we want to keep, no? Things that connect with our true nature, with our essence. Those things that make us more forgiving, generous, just, loving, creative, and alive.

Anything else can go. Anything that weighs on the mind can go. Revenge necessitates remembering offenses and lingering on the past. Use your past to your full advantage like you just walked into a toolshed with a broken lamp in hand. We're here, today, for a reason. To be here. If you pick up the wrong memory put it down, we can be effective in our remembering, to be in service of today.

All in all, the way I see connecting more with your truest self is through building up of automatic responses. Habits though are really where now can live and benefit from yesterdays habituated learnings. Habits of love, habits of aliveness. In the moment we are susceptible to other's programmings. Let us work on becoming what we build ourselves to be, from our best philosophies gathered and practiced into habits.

Personally, I chose not to allow other people and happenstance and my own focus on negativity to shrink me. I will create the best now-centered me as I can through the development of habits. One at a time.

Steps: First I need to know who I am. What my true nature is. Second, where I am at odds with that nature? And finally to discover what daily decisions and habits will take me home.

Sort:  

Nice first post on Steemit!
I recommend including an image in your next so that a thumbnail displays in the preview. It will help get you some views.

Merci, still figuring out how to use this thing effectively :) - I looked for a way to upload photos, perhaps I add urls?

I seeeee, you have to switch to the editor from "markdown" ... Thanks! I now know :)

You can use markdown and/or html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54