You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: All You See Is Light. Everything Else, You Imagine.

in #philosophy6 years ago

To me this post was nothing new since I enjoy popular science but I felt the importance of it simply because people surprisingly rarely think about how their bodies function. While conciousness as a phenomenon still remains a mystery for science, it's good to start with simple things that can and should be explained. For instance, parents often tell their kids the grass is green because of chlorophyll within it but it doesn't answer the question. And the answer to the question is that the light coming from the sun isn't really white, but it's a combination of different wavelenghts (the rainbow) we perceive as white since our brain is calibrated this way. And as the green wavelegth carries the least amount of energy for plants, they simply reflect it, so we see them in green. And Bob, I could go on forever, some of these things never stop to amaze me, I'm a huge fan of Carl Sagan and Neil deGrasse Tyson. The most mindblowing discovery as of late for me was the Novosibirsk project of domesticating the red fox which revealed how selective breeding affects the very mindset of animals, their fur colour and skeleton and the results of domestication are always the same. Look it up, it's crazy interesting.

Sort:  

Hi @beyonder, thanks for stopping by again, yes, i totally agree with you. When i chill with my friends, this is exactly the type of conversations that we have.
When steem reaches the $100 mark, I want to travel the world and meet some steemians in coffee shops around the world. You are one of those :)
Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62134.65
ETH 3418.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51