A Philosophical Thought on the Word "I"

in #philosophy7 years ago

I was sitting in meditation and tears came into my eyes.
I was focused.
I could not wipe my right eye.
I let it roll down my face.
I felt it trickle down.
I noticed how it felt against my skin.
I noticed my appearance to others.
Now that I write this paragraph I notice how often I use the word "I". We are taught the word I for self is another word for "Ego". Ego has been taught to me somewhere down the road as being negative. Ego or I or self or my own sense of self is how I recognize who I am let's say when I look in the mirror. When I am without a good sense of self or when if I see having Ego as something as negative, looking in the mirror would become unrecognizable. Cognition or understanding is necessary in developing the "who" when talking about the "I" of what we are.

When we look into the mirror we need to see who it is who is looking back at us. Is it ourself? Is it me? Who am I? Is it the daughter of my mother? Am I a child, am I a woman, have I grown into the person I always wanted to be? Am I healthy?
Today, I need to feel safe, I cannot feel frightened, I am taught I am not allowed to feel afraid. There is plenty to be learned in what our attitudes tell us in as much as what our language brings.
If we say, "Let them eat cake!" are we making reference to a point in history or are we telling people to go off their diets. Constitutionally people are shaped by the words that are used around them. So that if someone, going back to a previous thought, says Ego is a negative term - one would believe that a lack of Ego would be the ultimate goal. This would then cause ultimate confusion when one looks in the mirror saying (if "Ego" = "I") to herself, who am I? Or even more confusing, not understanding who she is when she sees herself for herself. Seeing herself as unrecognizable. To be without "Ego" is to be without a "who" in the who, what, where, when, and how of your own story. If language is how it is written, then the "I"'s have it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60270.89
ETH 2383.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57