You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Philosophy of Thanos

in #philosophy5 years ago

I know that the writers tried to 'humanise' Thanos.. And it does jibe well with my own belief that people don't willingly do evil, but it is more a side effect of well intentioned but ill considered actions. However, the snap always bothered me... If the idea is to reduce overpopulation... It makes no sense to halve the population... It is an half arsed solution, kicking the can doen the road for a couple of generations when the population doubles like all exponential functions...

A better solution would be either to wipe out all life (but then you can't prevent life from re-emerging and taking the long climb up to intelligence again...) or sterilising (rendering infertile) the entire population. Anything less is just a waste of time!

On the other hand, the snap as it was hinted at in the movie... Seemed more like a seperation of the population into two different universes, rather than the slaughter of half?

Anyway, as far as the good/evil dynamic goes... I would disagree with the line that you had, that the Avengers think it is always bad to kill.. They kill heaps, they just don't think it is wrong!

Anyway, great read! But I think the movie does treat these issues in a pretty ham-fisted way...

Sort:  

The sterilization idea is an interesting one. Did you ever read Dan Browns book "Inferno?" That was basically his solution to overpopulation - sterilize 1 in 3 people. Sorry, that was a massive spoiler if you havent read it and were planning to.

I didn't catch the hint that the ones who died from Thanos' went to a different universe. That's interesting. I'll have to rewatch it and see if I can catch that.

The Avengers dont kill statement was a major overgeneralization on my part. Lol. You are right, they do kill quite often.

Posted using Partiko Android

No, I hadn't read that book (and don't plan to!)... I think that in the end, overpopulation will always be the goal of any species. Normally, they did out of a restricted by the larger ecosystem... But we've figured out a way to get around that problem. So our only limiting factor is resources... Which is why I think space exploration is the real solution to this problem... Or education of women (general education, secondary and tertiary...), which seems to be the easiest and most productive way to reduce population growth without being drastic!

I can't remember the lines that led me down that path of thinking... Something that seemed to suggest that the ones that disappeared weren't dead, but had a memory of the others being missing? Not sure if that is in my head or really in the movie though....

Space exploration is certainly a possibility. Though it does have many challenges of it's own, especially in terms of colonization of habitual planets. Mainly the impact on the human immune system from pathogens that we did not evolve alongside. But there are probably work arounds for things like that or ones that will eventually be developed.

When you say "educate women" do you mean women going to school longer and therefore not having as long of a timespan to give birth? Sorry, that point was a bit unclear to me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes (going to school for longer or at all) , general higher education of women is a big factor in reducing the birth rate. Less due to the lack of time, but the fact that women are able to see and fulfil themselves in ways that are independent of men and raising children. I was surprised when my brother (a gynaecologist) told me it was the most effective form of birth control, especially when in combination with more direct forms.

Also, it is one of the biggest impacts that we can have on climate change as well... As a more modest long term population means a smaller pollution footprint. Of course, all these things are in combination with better and smarter efficiency and resource usage.

I see. I think that makes quite a bit of sense.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49