Phenomenology in a nutshell - Who are you?

in #philosophy7 years ago

 Self-reflection and inner exploration is extremely important. Do you ever really sit quietly and take a few minutes just to reflect on your life and who you are? This is something that certain groups of people rarely have time for – people working long hours in tiring and demanding jobs or people with large families, always seeking to meet the demands of others. The constant noise and bustle of everyday life continuously disrupts and discourages what should be a natural thing to do - inner seeking.   

Image source


The late Raymond Carver (1938-1988) needed time to reflect and write, but he also desperately needed peace and quiet. Being unable to find this for many years, it drove him to alcoholism. Only after getting divorced, his children all grown up and being much older, he was able to find a sense of peace. He remarried and this ‘saved’ him from self-destructive behavior and alcoholism. Reaching early middle age, he wrote a collection of poems named “Fires” and he believed that everything would work out some way or another.  

One day, while doing his laundry at a laundromat, this inner peace died when he saw a vision of his life fading away. He saw himself in a sea of endless chaos of small-time jobs and parental responsibilities and suddenly felt that his life was never really going to get better. The dreams of him and his wife began to go 'bust' as he felt that dreaming big and working hard was an empty American philosophy, leaving them with a feeling that their entire lives were just confusion and darkness.

 “The time came and went when everything my wife and I held sacred, or considered worthy of respect, every spiritual value, crumbled away.” (Raymond Carver, Fires [1985] page 34)   

Because we are complicated and society is complicated, Phenomenology believes that if we are to be real, then we need to have relationships with at least one other person, but not to let them rule us and drive us away from what we are and who we are.  It claims that humans and the world constantly interacts with one another and that we need to ask ourselves “who am I, who is my community and what is our place in the world?” For Raymond Carver, his need was to write and find inner peace in order not to let desperation consume him.  


What then, makes us who we are?  

Phenomenology helps us to find who we are and who we want to be. 

“We dull our lives by the way we imagine them. We have stopped imagining them with any sort of romance, any sort of story…[what about]beauty, mystery and myth? There is an essential mystery at the heart of each human life. (James Hillman, The Soul’s Code, 1996) 

James Hillman wrote in his book (The Soul’s Code) about the lives of people who did not accept society’s demands and said:

Image source


Probably the hardest question one can ask is “Who am I?”  Not many people are able to answer this as it deserves a deeper answer that just the obvious. Describing yourself, your characteristics, where you come from and where you are going is not the question here.  Do we really know who we are? Can we for sure say that we have taken the time to reflect on this topic? 

Phenomenology can probably not help us to solve such problems, or any other problem for that matter, but it sure can help us to closely examine our own lives and to lead less stressful lives.  If we were to ignore Phenomenology, we would probably run the risk of lacking the capacity to feel and might never be able to experience pain or joy.  The same can be said for Existentialism.  If society were to ignore both Phenomenology and Existentialism, what a devastating risk wouldn’t that be? 

Do you know who you are?  

I don't!

Sort:  

Cool. I have been doing some reading on phenomenology and its application in localized educational research, and am planning to make a post about it some time in the future. Great read! Thanks.

Glad you liked it. Drop your link here once your post is up as I would definitely want to read it too ;)

Will do. =)

Nice work, i hope you grow fast on steemit :)

That's so nice of you, thank you!

You are more than welcome

I think this is perhaps the most fundamental question. If I am quiet as you suggest, I see that I am not this, not that but that I am identified with it. If I say I am the inner part of my body, a role such as a father, a blogger, a worker - each one does not answer the question. Occasionally when I am quiet, a subtler sense of I arises which can see the other 'I's, yet the question still remains. So, I (whatever this is) do not know as well.

True. A very deep and difficult question for most of us.
Thank you for reading my post!

Thank you for writing that post!

Great writing on freedom and consciousness.

I ask myself this question all the time. Still don't have an answer.

Hopefully someday, we'll have the time to think of one

I think I need to get some of his books... Thanks for this, it was a really good read.

My pleasure ;)


See your post mentioned here

I find I go through cycles of asking these questions...then life gets crazy and I don't have time and then things calm down again and I can get back to asking again. Not sure I have an answer yet though. Great post, look forward to more from you!

I think it's normal not to know the answer to this question. Life is so busy and one rarely gets the opportunity to sit and think about this without interruptions. Thank you ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50