You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AN INTROSPECTION ON TIME, LOVE AND DEATH

in #philosophy6 years ago

Greetings @warpedpoetic, thanks for sharing some powerful thoughts and feelings. You say you welcome comments, so here's the one big thought I had when reading your post:
Love seems to be held responsible for a number of things that doesn't seem to be its fault IMO. Is it the fault of 'love' that other people promise love but don't deliver? Is it love that takes away 'laughter, song and warmth'? Is it the fault of love that the little girl has her heart broken by a cruel world? With the greatest of respect and sensitivity for feeling, I would like to point out that I think this is a misunderstanding, as (for me), the only real 'LOVE' that exists is unconditional. Anything that has a condition attached to it might look like love, but on inspection reveals itself for something else (expectation, wishful thinking, control, security, comfort, pleasure, desire, sky-castles etc). Mainstream society seems to have little value for unconditional love, and rather sees 'romanticism' and 'sentimentality' as suitable subsitutes - and we are told from childhood that this is love. There seems to be a lot of confusion about it anyway!
Hope you are feeling better.
Peace!

Sort:  

Thank you for finding out time to visit my blog; I deeply appreciate this.

I totally get you and I accuse love of nothing, I am merely pointing out, as an impartial observer, people's feelings towards love especially when broken hearted.

That being said, I agree that love is supposed to be unconditional but I doubt if humans can love unconditionally because even loving someone has an automatic condition attached, which is that the person will love you back. If the person does not return your fervour, you feel betrayed.
Unconditional love demands a sacrifice that man cannot give. It demands accepting ourselves as being as perfect as we would ever be and as result accepting the world as it is.

Once again, thank you for coming and please do come again. Peace.

I doubt if humans can love unconditionally because even loving someone has an automatic condition attached, which is that the person will love you back

I think this illustrates what I am trying to say. It is the 'expectation' that the other will 'love' back that is the condition. This condition has nothing to do with actual 'love'. Expecting a person to return what you give is not giving a gift. I think human attitudes are what causes this confusion. I don't think love has much to do with it.

Unconditional love demands a sacrifice that man cannot give. It demands accepting ourselves as being as perfect as we would ever be and as result accepting the world as it is.

I'm not sure what sacrifice you are referring to here. I would say there is intense value in accepting ourselves and the world as we experience moment to moment. In doing so we can accept reality and stop fighting it (trying to alter the flow of what is). We can then begin to see clearly (in my opinion) what is going on, to stop blaming others and to take responsibility for ourselves.

I agree that people get disillusioned and cynical with love when they are heart-broken; some even deny its existence altogether (I spent almost 2 decades like this). But this is the responsibility (even choice) of the individual, not of love. Conditioning encourages us to blame rather than take responsiblity for ourselves and our feelings. Is it reasonable to blame Love? - that's my question!

By sacrifice, I meant giving of yourself wholeheartedly without expecting a return.

I personalised love in my post because love has different facets. I was not speaking of agape which is beyond man mostly but of Eros, which is all we care about mostly.

Eros is to blame, yes for wars, for tears, for hurting, and agape is what we need to heal all. Do you understand me?

giving of yourself wholeheartedly without expecting a return

well that's unconditionality!

@warpedpoetic I'm not interested in a debate or proving an argument. When you use the 'we', please note that I do not read myself as included in the sense. I wonder at the use of the pronoun, as I do not like being spoken for. If you are excluding me from your 'we', well then we aren't really talking are we? :D

I don't think this conversation has anywhere further to go. You win, I'm outie, and sure, I do not understand the sudden intro of the terms 'Eros' and 'Agape' either!

Goodbye and best wishes

😂 no problem bro. I don't consider this a debate though. We are simply exchanging ideas on something. Of course the pronoun 'we' does not include you if you do not want it to; the beauty of generalizations basically.

I find our interaction enlightening and I did not intend to make it look as if it was a competition. If that is the impression you got, I apologize profusely.

I brought agape and Eros in since they are synonyms of what love is and I was trying to show you that I spoke of Love in a particular sense.

I thank you for finding time to interact with me on my blog. I deeply appreciate your contributions. Stay safe out there and please don't be a stranger. Peace.

We can chat sometime on discord, of you are there. My username is the same @warpedpoetic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67695.76
ETH 3822.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65