BEING A STUDENT EVERYDAY IS THE BEST WAY OF KNOWING NEW THINGS

in #philosophy7 years ago

When I was in year three in the University, I was studying History and International Studies and the course title was International Politics Up to 1945, I spent a lot of time on WWII. A friend from Faculty of Education said I must be a scholar and an expert after the amount of time I've spent on it, and I replied, *"It only made me realize how much I don't know.

FB_IMG_1510832731096.jpg
Source
Because, in order to understand WWII, you will have to go back to WW1, and I'm sure I'll have to go further back to understand how WWI came about. That is inter-connectivity of history. One event leads to another. It will be a never-ending process."* I added, "studying History and International Studies really made me humble because I knew I would never know it all no matter how much I studied. But learning every day will make me become better than I was before". He nodded in consonance to my responses.

Someone once said not knowing History was like being a leaf that did not know it was part of a tree. That's an interesting fact and it applies to many people. Be that as it may, for Knowledge sake, Ignorance is not an attribute. It is good to start each day by saying to yourself, " what can I learn today that I didn't know before"... It opens you up to more information and fortifies you as an intelligent individual everyday because you will continue to see things beyond their ordinary appearances.

Another interesting aspect of history is that it will lead us to seeing that we are all part of it. History isn't just the past-It is happenings now!.. How can we know we are part of it if we don't know what it is to begin with? The world did not start with our birth and it won't end with our death. So, we have to make use of the moments around us by learning new things everyday and through this, we can become worthy history of our present and the unknown future.

Never be a know-it-all kinda person. It's impossible to know everything but you can know something about many things by opening yourself to new things everyday as they will enrich your knowledge and increase your net worth as an individual. Be a great example of "remaining a student every day is another opportunity to learn something new".

Thanks for checking by.

Hamza-Afeez Eniola Onireke is a Nigerian, who reads and writes.

Sort:  

I love this. Keep it up

Learning is from cradle to grave.

What a life impacting post.

It is good to start each day by saying to yourself, " what can I learn today that I didn't know before"

This habit will make the world a better place for you and I if live by it. Thanks for sharing.

Acknowledging the simple statement "I don't know" has a tremendous potential. when you say you don't know you search for information, your brain is active. when people deny the fact that they don't know something, they automatically close themselves to the potential of new knowledge.

Basically, that is act of sincerity. I concur with you.

Well said dear. Thanks for sharing

You are welcome.

Education still remain the key to unlock every success. I wonder what my life could hv bn if i werent a student. Being a students does not mean staying in the classroom all the time, any place, or environment one finds his or herself , he or she is a student there bcos there is something new u can learn from there. As i found myself here am a students of steemit cos I learn a lot everyday here in steemit, so u are. Steemit community is a good teacher.. and proud to be a good student...lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.72
ETH 2344.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52