You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎓 Weekend Philosophy: Epictetus ( #5)

in #philosophy7 years ago

I think Stoicism is definitely my leaning... I don't seem to really have the high range of emotions that most of the people around me have... and I've never really enjoyed being around super-emotional people. It's not that I don't cope, I just don't see their emotive responses as being super useful.

The middle quote definitely sits well with me.

Sort:  

Well look at you ninja sneaking in my blog :D

I agree, it is a nice philosophical direction and it is quite practical too. One of the practices I've learned for the mornings, is to imagine the negative confrontations one is going to face during the day and play out the situation in your mind. Then when it actually occurs, it has no power to disturb your balance as you have already prepared your mind for this event :)

I've always had the impression that stoicism is just being a quiet martyr. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37