Self-Love versus Confidence: Tell Me Your Thoughts!

in #philosophy6 years ago

After a long history of insecurity, I like to believe I love myself now. I've believed that means I am confident, but lately I've noticed situations where I am very clearly insecure. For example, when talking to acquaintances I struggle with social anxiety, feeling like I'm saying all of the wrong things and that the people I converse with hate me for it. I worry a lot about what some people think. It seems like an obvious sign of low confidence.

Additionally, I hold very deep rooted beliefs that I am not pretty and I am not a good singer. In my practice of self-love, I've decided to accept that though I may not be good at it, I love to sing so I am going to do it anyway. I no longer feel a need or pressure to be pretty or talented to love myself just as I am, if that makes sense.

But this week, my friend told me I am a good singer, and another friend said I am pretty. My reaction was to ignore it. I act as if compliments somehow threaten my sense of self -- like if I were to believe I'm a decent singer or an attractive person I might have to learn to love myself all over again.

I don't really have a conclusion to these thoughts; I just want to invite some thoughtful discussion.

Do you think there's a difference between self love and confidence? Is there anything that you would rather believe you're not good at to protect your fear of being wrong?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56264.43
ETH 2991.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21