To be more Fair and Just, you must forego your Self/Identity.

in #philosophy6 years ago

Commenting in part to John Rawls' theory: https://aeon.co/videos/want-to-build-a-just-society-john-rawls-said-to-start-by-ignoring-your-identity

I suggested in my cultural theory class last week that it's possible to have a more fair society if people were more altruistic, my instructor responded with the fact that everyone has a personal identity narrative where being altruistic only contributes to a positive narrative for their identity. So therefore everyone is corruptible. When I suggested that it's harder to be corrupted if you lack a sense of identity, she said that that is silly - everybody has a sense of identity.

Well, I don't. I never had a sense of identity. Having Borderline Personality Disorder means (among other things) that my identity is fragmented: I don't know who I am. I never have. I don't really have a sense of Self, which makes me a great social chameleon (adapting to hegemonic social attitudes/behaviours of others), but also a decent objective perspective when necessary.

I only know that I am a Transhumanist, and so being a Transhumanist, I have the responsibility (though, not the obligation) to be altruistic in order to help others. I do this at great personal (emotional, psychological, financial) sacrifice, even if I personally feel like shit after. Even if it comes out wrong. Even if I end up regretting doing it (I often do, to some degree). It's pointless to think of it somehow benefiting me if my own pleasure is completely temporary (a few moments) against the long-lasting effects that altruistic, and humanistic efforts can have.

By disregarding (or not knowing) your own self-interests, you are then forced to think of the well-being of others First, and how you can make everything more fair - even if it has the potential to hurt you in the future.

This is why I always have complete transparency built-in to the "systems"/organizations I design and lead. Even making documents public amongst the volunteers, or streamlining procedures so that they aren't so convoluted and are more transparent, increases accountability amongst everyone, and therefore the credibility of the system.

Sort:  

Hello @ariahplus, upv0t3
This is a free service for new steemit users, to support them and motivate them to continue generating valuable content for the community.
<3 This is a heart, or an ice cream, you choose.

:)


R4ND0M:
4536 2194 6037 9076
6315 3304 6064 1380
1682 3544 5670 1949
7264 9127 6708 7251

Congratulations @ariahplus! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ariahplus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60535.76
ETH 2598.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54