Would You Lie To A Friend To Save Your Life? 🔍

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

I've made up a few scenarios and let me know what you would do in those situations.

friendship-1.jpg


I've recently been reading the works of Chinese philosopher Yin Haiguang. One thing that really intrigued me is that he wrote that when our basic needs cannot be satisfied without breaching moral rules, we need to engage in a 'moral war of resistance'.

Meaning that we need to lose as little moral territory as possible, and recover them as soon as possible.

I've been thinking about this, and the problem I wish to propose to you is to what extent can we breach moral rules to save our skin?

I've created two scenarios where it's either your own life or someone else's; I'm pretty sure we unequivocally agree that someone else's life takes priority. However, that may vary from people to people and how self-interested they are.

Scenarios

First

So for the first circumstance, your best friend is working in the army. You have a tyrannical and oppressive government and your sympathies lie firmly with the resistance to over throw the ruling state.

Due to the fact you support the resistance forces you have provided them with medical supplies and shelter. Now you meet your childhood friend, and after a while, you start discussing politics. He is infuriated and says ' you would never help those scum, right?' If you don't answer or give an honest one, you're sure you'll be caught and executed. Would you lie to save your life or stay true to your moral and face martyrdom?

Second

The second scenario I have created is that you are in a situation where you're alone with someone of the opposite sex. He or she is not related or married to you however you are.

One night the temperature plummets while you are on the streets and you are extremely cold, and you're sure that without a blanket, you likely won't survive the night. However, you only have one blanket. Do you choose to use the blanket yourself, share the blanket with that person or let the person alone use the blanket while you shudder in despair?

What Would I Do?

In the first scenario, I think I would lie to my friend as I'd rather stay alive and help the resistance rather than me being executed. Without my help, the resistance may fail which I truly support, and I think it would be a larger moral injustice if I let a tyrannical rule go on instead of just telling the truth

In the second scenario, I think I would share the blanket. I see nothing immoral about it even with a high risk of death. Even if I die from hypothermia, I die knowing I tried to save someone in the same situation. Wouldn't it also be the moral duty for the other person to worry about my well-being equally?

In both circumstances, I am violating moral principles in some way. I can't put my finger on why I chose these instinctively, but it might be because in the first case, my friend will never know I lied, whereas in the second case, the other person knows I've committed a wrong, and if I have the option to cover up my wrong doings I will take it.

What Would You Do?

Sort:  

I would do the same as you in both scenerios. The thing is that you can find logic in everything. You eat fast and junk food because you like it. And that is logical. But is it rational to poison yourself? Same goes here, both of your choises are ratialan to me. While every other option you gave is logical but not really rational from my point of view

I would never do something unethical for nothing in this life

Congratulations @arckrai! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

To live not on lies is my religion! Lying is the greatest and most ancient mistake in the communication process. This is a chain reaction! One lie breeds the next! The first scenario immediately implies the final! After all, a truly honest person can not become a hero of this scenario! An honest man is honest with himself first. This means that he will not communicate with the ideological enemy, only because he was a friend in his childhood! Moreover, he will not talk to him about politics, since the outcome of this conversation is known! Thus, our hero, being in this situation, is already a liar! Therefore, there is no other way for him than to lie further! 😘😗😙😚🤗

This is one of those things that the true answer will only be available when one experiences a situation in their life. From my understanding though, humans are very weak and easily break under pressure which is why things like torture works(unfortunately). In other words, they're willing to do literally anything to save themselves and lying to a friend is probably the least they would do! Having said that, we live in a fallen world where sometimes we have to make hard decisions. Perhaps an "immoral" one in order for a greater good or a "moral" outcome. That's my take anyway. Good post though! 👍

I love some of your responses ( obviously young people!) Let us change your situation in 1) to you are married with kids. If you don't lie they will throw your wife and children in a concentration camp ( minimum). they may die of disease and starvation there -LIE.
There are also white lies that prevent hurt feelings, How do I look in my new outfit ? which you might think does not suit them?, you will just hurt their feelings! Lie. The Head of Death row in Pretoria Central Prison, ( Many Years ago) told me he never hanged an Atheist! Are they exceptional people?, no, everyone that knows the exact date and time they are going to die, becomes enthusiastically religious! So, were they lying all this time till they got to that point? Think about it.

Love your posts and comments you make on this platform.. You also started in june.. You are doing great.. your suc6 will be huge.. How many hours a day do you spend on Steemit?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by numpty from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

First of all we love ourselves, so we will be doing anything for saving our life. If we are not there, who will be the fulfilling the friendship?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68498.38
ETH 3905.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66