We Envy In Others That We Dislike🎇 Thinking Highly Of Ourselves 💎

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

102417_real-women-share-the-moment-they-knew-the-relationship-wasnt-right_1200x620_v1.jpg


Classing Ourselves Above Others

Being we esteem ourselves a lot more highly than others and being we admire in others those things we lack in ourselves, how can we believe we are higher than others and at the same time idolise them?

I believe that we esteem ourselves more highly than others as we wish for the perfect qualities that we imagine that others possess. We feel like we are more deserving of these qualities than the individuals that actually possess them. That is to say that the very people we admire are the very individuals we are envious of. I am not saying we are envious of them in all things, but, only in those things that we perceive as lacking in our own lives.

The Desire Is Too Strong

To illustrate, as a young man, there was nothing I wished more than romance. The more I strived for it, the more it seemed to elude me. Consequently, I grew envious of couples I perceived as having ideal relationships. Rather than being happy for them, secretly, I relished any trouble in their relationship.

By being envious of others, we don't just want those things that they have but inwardly wishing if we can't have those things, then, neither should they. We see ourselves as more valuable than they are.

A Chain Effect Of Destruction

Therefore, every relationship is comprised of envious desire; by wishing to associate with others, we aren't looking for more of those things that we have already got but things that are missing in our lives, things that we would like, things that we want, yet, things that we find elusive.

In wanting to be more assertive, I'm not looking for somebody whom I perceive as being a pushover; I'm looking for somebody who stands his ground and is willing to be confrontational if he feels vulnerable.

Albeit I wish to be more assertive, I cringe at the mere thought of assertiveness. From being annoyed by someone insisting he has his way to recoiling in the presence of somebody who is confrontational, it's as if I want assertiveness in theory however not in practice. The very thing I want, the very thing I envy in others is the very thing that I find embarrassing.

Love or Envy?

I think that any relationship of any depth is a love-hate one. I feel like on the outside, we show that we desire one another, but secretly we envy each other.

I believe the very things we want from each other are the very things which irritate us about each other. The tension which exists between two people is caused by one person wanting that which the other person has but is annoyed by it in moderation and is disgusted by it in the extreme.

Sort:  

I think I recall this being one of the reasons that we should be wary of those closest to us when it comes to betrayal.

Our enemies are open in their enmity, whereas closeted envy from those we consider friends can strike us unawares.

i enjoyed this article and your point of view ''love or envy'', its interesting. i do believe "...any relationship of any depth is a love-hate one" but i like to believe that i did choose my wife because she does have what i dont, in certain areas, but not because i want it and out of envy but out of balance, were she lacks i balance it out and vis versa . great post.

We all carry these emotions, I thoroughly enjoyed how you portrayed it, as lacking whatever it is in our own lives.

Right before our eyes, we need to stop and assess ourselves (quite a difficult task), since we are never totally honest with what we see normally.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by numpty from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65